We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Reviewed April 12, 2014

On checking in I found the staff very pleasant, my room was of a good size and clean, the free wifi was simple to access, the gym and pool facilities are very good, but some of the equipment could do with some attention, the steam room was out of order when I stayed but I'm sure it will be fixed soon... I had a meal in the bar, some of the staff could benefit from some Customer Care training, ( a member of staff shouted " is this your order love" from the doorway of the bar, me and my co-worker where the only ones in the room) the barman had to get the chef from the kitchen to show him where my order was on the till... All in all a good stay, breakfast was very good, but I noted a lot of male staff and not many female staff? Not that it made a deferents to the service just an observation...

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andrew4746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that overall your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Your feedback provided for the leisure club and bar teams is very helpful to us to help provide further coaching to all the staff here at the Basingstoke country hotel.
I hope we can welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

As a mature couple we stayed at this hotel for a short break to re-charge our batteries. The welcome we received was second to none. All the staff are so kind and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room wasn't large but it was spotless and the beds and pillows were a delight to sleep on. The food in the restaurant exceeded our expectations and was beautifully presented. We will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jacqui11022014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. It's always great to hear about how friendly, welcoming and accommodating the team have been to our guests. With a new menu in place its nice to have such positive feedback for the restaurant and kitchen.
I hope we welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Cannot fault this hotel. Lovely room with robe and slippers. Enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi and indoor pool which we virtually had to ourselves. Evening meal was excellent, as was the choice for the buffet breakfast. Our afternoon tea was an added treat. Yummy cakes!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

It was with great pleasure that I read your review of your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to hear that all aspects of your stay were enjoyable, the kitchen team will be especially pleased with the feedback for the afternoon tea.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Visited for a one night stay on Sat 5 April and it didn’t bode well when we had to wait 20 minutes to check-in while the only receptionist on the desk tried to deal with a family who were complaining about their room allocations. Two other members of staff got involved but didn’t make a very professional impression as all they kept doing was moaning about the fact that a certain member of staff wasn’t there, and while all this was going on we and another couple were just left waiting – no-one made any attempt to check us in or call any other members of staff who could help. No-one appeared to take control of the situation.

Once we were eventually able to check-in, the receptionist asked if we wanted to book a table for dinner. I had already done that via email and a follow-up telephone call the week before (as I hadn’t had a response to the email), but the receptionist couldn’t see a booking for us on the computer. The lady I spoke to on the phone had said she would “put it in the book”, and after telling the receptionist this he looked in a separate book and found it, but said that he’d been told they were no longer using the book, only the computer! He then gave us our booking in form to sign and I thought I’d just check that he had booked us into a Deluxe room as that’s what I’d selected when I booked online – he then hastily changed the room number from 222 to 301, so I don’t think we were originally booked into a Deluxe room!

The corridors en route to our room were quite dark and dingy, and in need of some tlc, as all the paintwork was scuffed and marked, and there were random holes in the ceilings in several places. Once we got to our room we found it to be a good size and very clean, but the décor was very outdated and it all looked a bit shabby (one of the shades on the bedside lamp was broken), and the general feel to the hotel is that it’s seen better days and is probably due a refurb.

We went down to the Brasserie at 7pm for our dinner booking to find a menu on display at the door which differed greatly to the menu that we’d viewed on the hotel website. The menu on display had only half a dozen starters and half a dozen main courses, all of which were considerably more expensive than anything on their online menu. And the online menu had a huge selection in comparison. When we queried this, we were told “well we change our menu’s every few months”, to which we responded “well maybe you should update your website too!”. We decided to dine elsewhere at the nearby Festival Place (and also gave us the opportunity to see a film). One member of staff (a young lad) recommended a nice pub nearby, but all the other members of staff gave the impression they really didn’t give a damn and were very dismissive of our comments regarding the menu.

I have to say that breakfast was a very welcome pleasant experience – the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food selection was superb, constantly replenished, very hot, and excellent quality. Upon checking out we found we’d been charged for our Sunday newspaper, and we’d assumed it was complimentary as we were asked if we wanted one when we checked in – come on guys, you’re supposedly a 4 star hotel yet you don’t give complimentary newspapers (every other hotel we’ve stayed in during the last few years give them as complimentary).

All in all an ok stay, but we wouldn’t return and wouldn’t recommend it, as there was nothing that felt very ‘luxury’ about it … I think they’re punching about their weight, and are closer to a 3 star hotel, certainly not 4.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQ2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review.
I’m sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. Your review highlights some of the key areas that we are currently focussing on in the hotel. Firstly a general refresh of public area corridors is underway and general room maintenance is also a high priority.

We are in the process of updating the menu on our website to reflect our current offering, my apologies that this was not actioned sooner.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the breakfast and hospitality offered in the dining room and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future to showcase the continual improvements we are making.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Room EXCELLENT. Arrived early so we could take advantage of the spa. Take note you need to down load a voucher for the gym/spa off their website. Gym basic very clean, tired looking. Spa lovely, jacuzzi / hot tub outside, fantastic. Restaurant fabulous dinner scrumptious, breakfast filling and more than you can eat.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trudie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Leisure club and hotel in general. The team across all departments will be delighted to hear you had a pleasurable stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Enjoyable stay last night, good treatments, we arrived to early to book into the hotel as we had treatments booked but the reception staff kindly looked after our luggage. There were a few hiccups, the room had been made up as a double, instead of the twin we ordered, that was sorted while we had some more of our treatments, circuit breaker had been tripped to the plug sockets. Again was sorted in less than 10 minutes after we called down. Room was roomy, with large wardrobe, large bathroom, shower over the bath. Plenty of towels, bathrobes and slippersAgain sorted in less than ten minutes after we called down. Lovely tasty meal in restaurant with cheerful, attentive waiting staff. Asked for some more tea bags and a box of tissues, these were bought to our room within 10 minutes of us arriving back no problem. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, full English, continental, plus cereals. Although we arrived at 9 and breakfast had started at 7 everything was fresh. Again the waiting staff were pleasant and attentive. Other than the few hiccups because of the way and speed they were dealt with there was nothing to really complain about. All in all a great relaxing time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank crazysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your review.

It was a shame to read about the hiccups that you encountered but I was delighted to see that we were able to resolve all of them quickly for you and that you had such an enjoyable experience at the Basingstoke Country Hotel.

I hope that we will welcome you back soon for an even more enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely clean large rooms, excellent restaurant food and excellent rates, staff very accommodating, nice pool gym area.
We were fortunate enough to have sunny weather and took advantage of being in the courtyard area on sun loungers it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalieh148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for recommending us so highly.

How nice to have had the warm weather so early in the year for you to be able to relax and unwind in our courtyard. It is such a quiet spot and a great suntrap! The team will also appreciate your kind compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#10 of 13 in Basingstoke
931 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
Crowne Plaza Basingstoke
#6 of 13 in Basingstoke
60 reviews
1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#6 of 7 in Hook
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
422 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range: $46 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing