We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!”

Not your Mama's Cafe and Tavern
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Livonia
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Great restaurant and bar! The food is delicious, and the atmosphere is great! The staff is very friendly. If you like great food and a relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to be!! And don’t forget to leave room for dessert!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

We had not stopped here for the past 2 to 3 years due to poor service in the past. We were traveling by and decided to give it another try. We stopped for lunch...arrived at 12:15. There were a couple of large tables of guests and maybe 5 more tables of 2 to 4 people.....about 1/4 capacity. We waited 10 minutes for our waiter. When he came to our table, he asked if we wanted appetizers. We said no, we wanted to order main course. He was not prepared for an order so he left and came back in a few more minutes! We ordered main course along with side salads. In 15 minutes, we finally got our side salad....excellent blue cheese crumbles and dressing. We then waited 40 minutes for our main course. The food was excellent but 65 minutes from time we walked in before receiving our food was ridiculous! Waiter then brought our check after another wait. After 10 more minutes, I have up and went to the counter. After 15 minutes, he finally came to take my payment. There was a line of people behind me who had given up waiting to pay their waiter and also came to counter. In summary, the food was excellent but taking 90+ minutes for the experience was again part of the issue of why we said we would never stop again. I will wait to eat next trip when we arrive New Orleans and spend 90 minutes of my time at a fine dining experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank David_2013834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

Out in what seems to be the middle of nowhere sits this fabulous restaurant! The fresh baked bread they serve as you wait for your meal is so moist and delicious, as is the seafood dip! Mom said she could've made a meal of that it was so good! When our actually meals arrived we were astonished by the size! The po boys could easily be split between two people. I had the cheeseburger po boy and it was literally 2 burgers! And it was amazing! There were so many choices on the menu that I was torn between quite a few things. The waitresses were all very friendly and treat you like friends. Desserts sounded amazing and looked delicious, but we were so full none of us even dared try! Everything seemed to be homemade and it was for sure worth every penny!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

We’ve heard from many friends and family about the great food here. We read the reviews on trip advisor and decided to stop on our way home.

First impressions: decor was awesome. Very cool and neat. Food was excellent! The cup of seafood gumbo -filled with seafood! Great taste and nice and dark as it should be. Cup of corn and shrimp cream based soup was also filled with shrimp. Very tasty. I had the appetizer “the stack” as my entree : fried green tomato, fried eggplant and crab cake covered with remoulade sauce and shrimp. Wonderful. Hubby had the Mommas seafood salad. It was full of seafood and the serving was generous. And I can’t forget the wonderful warm bread - all that was missing was the cane syrup! Delicious

We will definitely return.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Cajunexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Omg the best food ever today!
Seafood dip as appetizer had the most amazing flavor and delicious bread for dipping!
Steak was cooked just as we asked and had a wonderful taste to go with the tenderness !
Mamas seafood salad is a great item on the menu!! Fresh and tasty!!

But the whole experience was made possible by a wonderful waitress Shondelle!! Thank you ma’am! You are absolutely the best!

Shout out to management for the atmosphere !

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rosie2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not your Mama's Cafe and Tavern also viewed

Been to Not your Mama's Cafe and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing