We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i got what I paid for, a place to sleep. I normally leave...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Broussard
1 review
“i got what I paid for, a place to sleep. I normally leave...”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

i got what I paid for, a place to sleep. I normally leave early in the morning, before they put out breakfast, so I never get to eat it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    38
    29
    22
See reviews for
29
53
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First room the door didn't lock. Second room tub was dirty. Had long black hairs in it. Heard people fussing and doors slamming all night. Woke up the nect morning and discovered male underwear behind trash can

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank freelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Th e room was very nice I enjoy the stay. For breakfast the milk was not cold and the juice was water other then that it is a nice hotel and I will be back again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was on the fence about getting a room here because of the mixed reviews, but was VERY glad I did. I was traveling with my mother and infant daughter and after reading some of the reviews about parking lot dark and shady area of town, I was nervous, but when I arrived, it was VERY WELL lit and it's just in an older part of town. I mean I wouldn't go walking down the road in the wee hours of morning, by myself, but its fine to spend the night and feel safe. The front desk woman was very nice and allowed me to check out the room before renting it for the night. The room was nicely updated and had all the amenities you need. I was very glad it had a fridge with freezer so I could re freeze the ice packs for the baby's cooler. The beds were comfortable and it was clean. They do offer a continental breakfast, but we arrived so late, that we slept through it. The same lady from check in was still working and she did go and turn the juice machine back on when I checked out and allowed me to grab some. All in all, this is a great place to grab a room. They do have a pool, but we didn't use it. Its a little on the small side, but it looked clean. I wouldn't listen to the negative reviews on here... It's well priced for what you get and shouldn't be looked over!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frei_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Desk did not always answer phone calls. The person in charge at the desk said that she was filling in while the regular staff were out. She didn't know answersl to most quesitons. Wall light was missing a bulb the extension cord so it couldn't be turned on the first night. The housekeepers didn't arrive until well after noon. The controls on the AC were on top of the unit mounted so high that I had to stand on a chair with wheels and then on the end table to turn it down from being way too cold. Milk, jelly and margarine were not set out from the fridge after the first night and the milk smelled sour when I found it. We didn't go back the for the second breakfast. The system to access wi-fi didn't give all of the steps or accept the code I was given until about the fifth try. The tv channel guide on screen did not work.
The price was okay. The restroom is so small that the door can hardly be opened all the way into it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an older hotel so it's not new and fancy. If you just need a place to sleep for the night as I did between gambling this works. The pool was nice since it goes from 4 ft. to 6 ft. And the front desk man was so nice, always smiling, and respectful. I would stay here again if need be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 34 in Lake Charles
337 reviews
2.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#22 of 34 in Lake Charles
37 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
#18 of 34 in Lake Charles
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
#21 of 34 in Lake Charles
33 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#10 of 34 in Lake Charles
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles
Address: 825 Broad St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-4340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing