We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had to stop, being late and after having driven too much. The hotel is disappointing, old furniture, smells bed, looks and perhaps is dirty. I remember a better standard for this hotel chain in the past.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piantin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

Booked through Priceline and was very disappointed in hotel when compared to other hotels with same ratings. After dark, thugs in parking lot and at pool and cars coming and going in parking lot all night. People hanging from railings and walking balcony making noise, got no sleep at all. Not safe location and absolutely not a place for family/kids. Can not believe priceline has this on their site. Priceline has never booked a hotel this bad for me. And trying to get the front desk to answer phone was a chore too, and when complaint made was told to call priceline. NOT A GOOD PLACE AT ALL.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank astromomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Ho-Jo in Lake Charles, LA was a Great choice, the room had a king size bed, was comfortable and quiet. We used a travel coupon from Room Saver magazine that gave Us a great price. We found this coupon book at the Tourist Welcome center. Make sure you pick one up.
The staff was very friendly and the room was very comfortable. The saving we received using the coupon made it possible to stay in Lake Charles.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecrsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I recently called this location and spoke to someone who barely speaks English last night. I was traveling to Lake Charles to visit my grandparent on Saturday June 19th. I made the reservation for Saturday on the evening of Friday June 18th. The incompetent female who took the reservation made the reservation for the same day instead of what I requested. I phoned them after 6:00 pm on the 18th.

When a family member in Lake Charles advised this location was not in a safe area and not very clean, I called to cancel the reservation before 8:00 am Saturday morning. To my surprise, I was told the reservation was for last night and I would be charged $80. I thought it was just a simple error…mistakes happen…the oversight could be corrected…WRONG.

I politely asked that this error be corrected. I would not have called to make a reservation for last night when I live 4 hours away. The person on the phone proceeded to argue with me and tell me she knew the reservation was for the 18th. She stated she never makes mistakes and answers the phone 24/7. I speak very clear English and did not make a mistake. This establishment simply would not own up to their error and wants to cheat people. When I asked to speak with the manager or owner of the location, I was told he was not in. I was insistent on speaking with someone in charge to discuss this issue further only to be told by the rude and unprofessional person on the phone that I could not speak to anyone but her. I would advise you not to give them your credit card information or attempt to stay here. They will charge you for the wrong date and won't own up to the mistake. The owners of this establishment are not ethical. I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. It is very sad that this establishment does not abide by honest and fair principals. Please do not make the mistake I did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank sh0eguru200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

No one at desk anytime went to front. noone answer phone. I think form the look of the staff and how dress it is a mom and pop working only place. They would not put my rewards in and told me I could not since the person that I split the room with was the one that booked the room and it was in his name. I was like add me and put the rewards I paid for half. Still got a blank share and my card handed back.

The room was very nice though. Recent remodel with new paint carpet. only they forgot to replace the restroom fans. Under Quality inspections it would get an A on Wyndham but would love to see all the admenties a HoJo should have. I will try to post some pics

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelierTravelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NikJouisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je pense qu'elles sont toutes pareilles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamark13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites
Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites
#13 of 37 in Lake Charles
199 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
2 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
#22 of 37 in Lake Charles
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 37 in Lake Charles
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lake Charles South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles

Address: 825 Broad St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-4340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range: $70 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing