We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Alot better two months ago!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alot better two months ago!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed there with my 12 year old son not the first time we have stayed there October 2012 and December 2012 in Oct it was a wonderful relaxing time! In Dec 2012 you can tell the weekend supervisor is gone! We found weed in the dresser drawers, there was a used condom under the bed and a sack of weed between the mattress and box spring! I ask the housekeeper on Saturday why the change since last time and was told the supervisor that was there that made sure things were done and helped the older housekeepers check those places was gone so I won't be going back! Scary I could have become a felon with all that weed in that room!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guestithomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
3
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marksville, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our softball team and parents stayed here for the Fastpitch 56 State Championship games on April 26 and 27. We really enjoyed our stay! The girls got to do some fishing right outside the motel, and they had a blast. Nice restaurant next door. There was a cool breeze blowing in the large patio area between the restaurant and the lake. It was very relaxing, even with the traffic sounds nearby (was not bad at all). The rooms were large enough, the beds were comfortable, and it was a plus to have a mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms. A/C worked very well. Complimentary coffee in the lobby was good, along with a free morning paper. My only recommendation is for the motel to have fluffier pillows. I would definitely recommend this motel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our room was paid by local company for business or we would have left. This is a drive up to your door motel. The room was clean but old bedding, and outdated bathroom. Bed was hard as a rock and we heard traffic all night long. Motel is beside bridge on I-210 and you hear thundering sound when vehicles pass over bridge. The only modern thing is a flat screen TV. Newer hotels right next to this motel. My advice is to stay in those.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okiedokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Charles hotels

Poway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was a nightmare experience for myself and daughter. We started in the third floor room and the bed smelled and I think the pillow might have been used by someone else (a smoker). I believe I picked up bedbugs here. A few days later I had the telltale bites on my back. We moved downstairs (no extra charge) to a cleaner room. At 3am we were awoken by someone banging on our door. At this point I was itching and waiting to have my daughter wake up so I could shower and leave. At six am a diesel truck was unloading supplies right outside our door and kept running for 15 minutes. We showered and spoke to the person in charge and left by 6:30am. I cannot get my money back or even get a lower rate from the manager. The sad part is that the two gentlemen at the desk were very kind and almost embarrassed to be working at such a place. I think the second floor must be rented out to monthly migrants since people were outside all night. We did not feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank movinon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolin, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our family has stayed here during the past 3 years during the Contraband Days which is the last week in April and the first week in May . The rooms have always been clean and the staff has always been very helpful and nice to out family. They have room to park your boat trailer if need be,And you are able to dock at the hotel. Also you are close to marinas as well the Casino and stores and eating places.
This is the place to be during ContraBand Days festival especially if you have a boat .

Myers Family
Kolin La.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1badeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Having a conference next door, I stayed at the Inn on the Bayou as it was the less expensive overflow hotel. It's an older style motel, long and plain looking with outside corridors, mired in a sea of concrete, but my room had been recently remodeled: nice carpet, decent furniture, tasteful decor. Because of the way the motel sits, few rooms will have any kind of bayou view, not that you really want one as it is tucked in between a busy street and I-210, meaning there's always a lot of traffic going by (though I heard no traffic noise in the room). My room had a microwave and a fridge, but no coffee pot. Wireless internet worked well. Room was reasonably clean, but not spotless. Towels were incredibly cheap and flimsy; it was hard to get dry with one and I'm a small person.

I have no major complaints, but if I were in the area again, I would choose a more modern property.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoprofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Pictures posted are not of what you will find at this nasty hotel. I went for a nice vacation Valentines weekend with my wife and based on the pics we rented a room with a king bed sitting area overlooking the bayou. Sounds nice huh? NOPE there are no king beds, there are no sitting areas. If and when you can see the bayou it is trash layden. Nasty!!!! Boom boxes all night in the parking lot. NOw the best part of it all. It was 39 degrees outside and no hot water for a shower. Cold shower on valentines day makes for an angry wife. I have called and called trying to get this resolved with the manager. No word as of yet. Stay there if you like but consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd
5.0 mi away
Motel 6 Lake Charles, La
Motel 6 Lake Charles, La
#26 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#12 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
4.1 mi away
Value Place Lake Charles
Value Place Lake Charles
#19 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou

Property: Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou
Address: 1101 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8388 (Formerly Inn on the Bayou)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Lake Charles On The Bayou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Bayou Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing