We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice chill place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luna Bar and Grill

Luna Bar and Grill
Ranked #7 of 264 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice chill place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stoped by and had the creamy spinach artichoke dip with homemade chips sprinkled with parmasean and other spices. Unbelievable flavor! Very good prices too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wade044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    92
    22
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool place to hang out and get some good bar food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband does a lot of business in this state and takes his customers for lunch here when in Lake Charles. We were there for the weekend and I had a chance to eat there. The fried artichokes were to die for. Better beer selection that wine selection but there were enough wine choices to satisfy me. I had a salad and added tuna with a citrus vinaigrette - hubby had chicken sandwich with a spicy mayo on jalapeño bun- very good. They have funky names all having to do with the stars and planets which is fun

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luna Tuna and homemade tortillas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Try both ore only the tortillas very good. Nice drinks and Lu.na Tuna and homemade tortillas
Nice seating and friendly staff

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leospickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We found Lunar by accident and are very happy we did. We were driving by and heard the live music. We decided to stop and have lunch and were so happy we did. Te atmosphere was fabulous and the service was fantastic. Not to mention that the food was perfect and at an amazing price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank personalMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great eats in nice restaurant, downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very good restaurant, with the focus of the experience being the food. All other aspects of the restaurant were at or slightly above what should be the standard for a bar-and-grill establishment—they did not detract from the eating experience, and augmented the experience subtly.

Food: The food was excellent. We ordered the stuffed mushrooms (can’t remember the exact name) for an appetizer. I had the Dragon Tuna as my entrée and my dining companion had the Redfish Ian. For desert, we were in the mood for ice cream, so we had the Luna Space Cake. The standard menu provides the diner with many options, and there was a “specials” menu at the table which provided about a third as many additional options. The menu included standard Louisiana fare—crawfish, shrimp, gumbo, etc. The seafood options were primarily tuna, salmon, and redfish, but there were two or three variations of preparation for each fish. Steaks are also available.

Atmosphere: Clean and relaxing, the décor is welcoming, if not distinctive. Tables are well spaced, in working order, as are the chairs. The booths are comfortable, though not exceptionally so. Restaurant noise is at the standard din—you don’t hear much from the kitchen, but with TV’s on and the restaurant close to full, it is not quiet. Conversations can be had at a normal speaking volume. In short, you won’t be wowed by the interior, but you will feel at ease here.

Staff: Courteous and capable. The hostess was friendly and seated us promptly. The waiter was pleasant and informed. He was also responsive.

Drinks: The beer menu provides plenty of options, particularly of local brews. The selection is not overwhelming. We did not request mixed drinks or wine, so I can’t speak to those aspects.

Entertainment: Luna Live is Luna’s music bar across the street. There may be a separate cover for entrance there, depending on whether or not a band is playing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brofinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Lake Charles, LA
 

Been to Luna Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing