We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Choice but the Best!”

Mama Reta's Kitchen
Ranked #16 of 321 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We LOVE soul food especially visiting Louisiana and we chose Mama Reta's from an online list. We were NOT disappointed! Went for lunch; one had the shrimp po'boy and I went for the vegetable 4 some- fried okra, smothered cabbage, salad and red beans. Comes with cornbread and all was delicious! Mama Reta strolls the tables and she's a delight. Clean, easy parking and in a walkable area of downtown Lake Charles.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janetmcd1665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2019

Our first stop in Loiusiana was Lake Charles to have lunch with the super charming Mama Reta. Catfish, chicken & sausage gumbo, cornbread & smothered okra followed by strawberry vanilla cake (complimentary) for dessert. We got sweet potato cookies to go! It was so unbelievably delicious! Mama Reta is highly visible and you can tell that the food is cooked with love and pride!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

We visited this place on a Sunday afternoon. Great place, great food, great service. Easy on and off the freeway.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

Can’t wait to come back tomorrow! Delicious!! Meatball stew, mash, macaroni and cheese, and cake are outstanding. Staff is super friendly. This place is cute and comfortable. Wish I would have known about it sooner.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank shaysmarch74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

On simple words... The best fried chicken ever! Just delicious! Accurately crunchy and juicy! Specially spiced. They offer good desserts and sides... They have a weekly lunch which varies every day but also have a complete menu available. The owner attend you personally with their pleasant guests.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank RjRp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Reta's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama Reta's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing