We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Impressed by the staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel was fine and well kept. The first room had just one towel and the bathroom light was blinking, so another room was immediately offered and accepted. Breakfast was as usual. I appreciated the gift of a Crunch bar and a bottle of water at check-in. Small things like that, and the smile of the staff, do make a difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We really appreciate your business and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    23
    16
    11
See reviews for
48
69
6
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Advertised as non-smoking rooms, but room smelled of smoke AND there was an ashtray right next to TV.

At check-in at 3 AM requested late check out. Was told that wouldn't be a problem. Housekeeping woke us up at 11 AM (normal check out time). When we told them we had late check out they said that couldn't be right. We called front desk, she asked who told us we could have it (obviously not trained in customer service) and we described person from shift just before hers. She then replied, "If you aren't out by 12 we will charge you."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishandSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Overall the hotel was fine - room was clean, beds were comfy. One of the staff members was not very knowledgeable about the hotel rooms as we had a problem with our room and she offered to move us to a similar room - which was not similar at all. We had a King Suite and she was going to move us to a 2 queen bed room without a separate seating area. We ended up fixing the problem ourselves as we were staying for 3 nights and did not want to change rooms. The breakfast area was not kept very tidy, but it appeared there was only one person on staff and she was manning the front desk and the breakfast. The hotel was full so another staff member would have been helpful. I can't say it was her fault. Overall we would return. I think the biggest problem was the hotel clerk we were dealing with was new and she was on her own - the maintenance person was not answering his phone, so maybe he could pull up his socks a bit in the customer service area of his job!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice hotel, has a gate around it for security and well lit, but my room smelled like smoke. I asked for another and the second one smelled like smoke too. They should charge more for people smoke to offset cleaning costs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Bad Management-no one checked on staff service. Bed not made in four days-clean sheets after 2 days-forget it. Business centre not working all four days. Room not cleaned at all on one day. Every day had to ask for milk/bread/coffee cups at breakfast time.It needs anew management

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

A fair rating for this hotel. Rooms are narrow and to my wife and I laid out weird. Room rate was acceptable but it is a basic motel. Ice machine on 1st floor out of order. Breakfast is a standard waffle maker (1), coffee, cereal (3), juice (2), pastries, bagels, fruit. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling solo with my children and the front staff was so accommodating!! The room was very nice and clean and breakfast was delicious! They also gave me a great rate which was a huge bonus! We will definitely save this place on our map as a great place to stay:)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
We really appreciate your business and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
Address: 1320 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601-2051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites is located in Lake Charles, Louisiana off of Interstate 10 at Exit 33 North. We offer easy access to local restaurants, shopping, beaches, attractions, and casinos. Lake Charles provides recreational opportunities such as boating, fishing, and swimming and hotel guests will appreciate the eclectic selection of restaurants located nearby with a variety of cuisines from which to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing