We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The bed was nice. The room was simple, and looked clean. But in the bathroom had a roach - not a big one that you find outside, but a little dirty roach that came out of the wall. Yuck.
Perhaps it was just a isolated event...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our 2013 Family Reunion lodging needs. We had several events around the city, with the Main Event being at the Civic Center; not only is it within walking distance to this venue, but also walking distance to the beach, and a family friendly park.
The hotel has a lot to offer: a conference room in which we held our Meet & Greet and Prayer Breakfast, complimentary hot breakfast, complimentary evening alcoholic beverages and snacks, a indoor pool, fitness center, and huge rooms.
The staff was extremely friendly and courteous; the Manager was also very accommodating!
On behalf of my entire family we thank you and would recommend this hotel to not only large family gatherings, but to anyone who could appreciate getting your moneys worth and more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJenkins35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is conveniently located near the freeway for travelers. It is a small property but appears to be well maintained. We had two neighboring rooms that were clean. Beds were comfortable. The only reason I cannot give this property a five star rating is I found the rooms to have a significant odor of something similar to mothballs. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Breakfast was average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The experience was good, and I would recommend this hotel to others staying in Lake Charles.

Room: The room was pleasantly furnished, and I felt more relaxed when I opened the door. You can tell this hotel was fairly new, and they are making their best effort to provide their guests with a clean, comfortable room. My friend, who arrived earlier, did report that the room smelled faintly of paint when he arrived, and so he turned on the fan. I did not notice the smell by the time I arrived. The room had two double beds, a small refrigerator, microwave and cooktop, a flat-screen TV (maybe 40”), two sinks (one was like a small kitchen sink, and the other was a bathroom sink), a desk and office chair, and a microwave. The bathroom did seem a little cramped, but there was a wall-mounted shelving unit adjacent to the shower (and above the toilet), which was more convenient than I’ve seen in most hotels (save luxury hotels). The bathroom was also clean. The beds were made with two layers of sheets under a blanket, which was under a third sheet. This had the effect of looking like the bed had a comforter, although it did not. This was not an issue, given the time of year, and that the HVAC unit worked well in the room.

Staff: The staff was very helpful, allowing my friend to check into the room early.

Lobby: The lobby is clean and neat. It is small, and includes the breakfast area, which is also small. I would imagine that if the hotel were full, not all the guests could be in the lobby at once.
Breakfast: I can’t speak to the breakfast, as we went elsewhere to eat. The coffee was good.

Pool: the pool area is orderly and inviting. It was open, but, at 65 degrees air temperature, just a little too cold for me to get in. The pool is not heated.

Parking: the driveway, parking lot, and individual spaces are narrow. The parking lot is smooth with no pot holes.

Location: The hotel is immediately off of I-210. Very close to the highway. It is about a 10 minute drive down to the historic district of Lake Charles, and the waterfront park. There is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. I felt safe there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brofinany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent value only $59.99. Was really clean and the owner very friendly.We just happened upon this place but it was one of the better deals we had over the 18 days of travelling through Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi.!! The owner also directed us to a restaurant for the best ever shrimp and gumbo!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gooddog73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Rooms super clean staff cleans everything , clean ! Had no Hbo for 4 days we stayed there asked several times but picture would freeze.breakfast so so not everything out had to ask to get . Would stay here again , yes! By then maybe they will have Hbo
Lol

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a new hotel so take advantage. Best value in Lake Charles. Use your GPS because it is a little odd how you get there. The rooms are right by the parking lot. It is quiet even on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menlodesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
#17 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Value Place Lake Charles
Value Place Lake Charles
#19 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richmond Suites Hotel
The Richmond Suites Hotel
#24 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 3411 Broad St, Lake Charles, LA 70615-3809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing