We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Price refund” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Price refund”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at this one on lake street had non smoking room but was on a smoking floor,when you got off the elevator the hall smelled strongly of smoke. We checked out a day early and two this day which is 15 days later they can not get my credit cake to me manager keeps the
Ling me it is my banks fault when the bank had nothing to do with it. Asked to speak to someone over him and he refuses to give me a name or a way to contact the owner,my friend that also had a room also is having the same problem.manager had nerve to ask me why I feel the need to continually ca
L him on this matter he has taken care of it, I call for it does not reflect in my bank account.

Room Tip: Can not recommend any rooms due to the fact I did not visit any other floors I can day if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity.

I do remember speaking with you about checking out a day early and I remember telling you that you would get a refund after a minimum of 15 business days - and some banks take even longer.

If you are in our area in the near future, please give us another try.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    5
    16
See reviews for
8
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paid $100 for a room for one night and walked in to holes in the hallways, and beyond nasty carpet. Get in the room and it stinks, the mirrors are busted and there are bugs crawling all over the refrigerator. DO NOT STAY HERE. We went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express and were able to get a huge suite for $50 more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We checked our records for all of July and none of our guests paid $100 for a night's stay, so you might have this hotel mixed up with another one.

We are always advised by our Housekeeping department of anything that needs attention in our rooms - including holes in the carpet and any bugs that are detected - and we immediately take action to take care of those items. These above items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property.

We hope you will visit us again if you are ever in our area.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were very tired from our day of traveling. Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean. Dead roach in bathroom but at least that meant the bug killer was working...Would choose another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmoore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wwe have stayed here several times, most recently for my daughters graduation. This is a nice hotel and an excellent value. The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really hate to give this hotel such a low score because all of the staff were very helpful, freindly and attentive. Unfortunately it could use a good cleaning, the carpets in the rooms were so dirty they turn your socks black, the refrigerator in my room didn't work, the pool was down the first day I was there and the bathroom received a good bleach cleaning by me. The hall on the third floor really smelled of smoke, but after one of the other patrons mentioned it on her way past the front desk, it smelled a lot better when I got back. I checked for bed bugs and found none, so that was good. The pool was working the next day and that was nice to cool off in. Really with just a good detailed cleaning and a little minor maintenance this could easily be a 3 to 31/2 star hotel. the bed was very comfortable and they have some newer LCD flat screen tv's in the rooms and again the staff is very nice and helpful. if you want to save some money and don't mind doing a little cleaning yourself go ahead and give it a try. It is changing brands from MIcrotel to America's Best Inns and Suites, so maybe it will get some updating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDHEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
4.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#23 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#15 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
3.7 mi away
Value Place Lake Charles
Value Place Lake Charles
#21 of 33 in Lake Charles
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
Address: 3231 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8339 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Microtel Inn And Suites Lake Charles
Microtel Lake Charles
Lake Charles Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing