We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust the reviews!”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't trust the reviews!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is old and run down. It should be a 1 star. We booked it based on reviews on Priceline, and ended up having to get our money back because it was so bad. When we first walked in, the hotel smelled of smoke and body odor. Even the non-smoking room we asked for smelled of smoke. We later found out a meth lab nearby had exploded and caused some of the horrible smells, but that still doesn't excuse the appearance of the hotel. The tile was broken everywhere, carpet flooring looked terrible, and everything was old and outdated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalmanager5966, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
I truly apologize for your the inconvenience you encountered when you arrived at our hotel. I met with my staff concerning the issues you mentioned and will follow up.There is no excuse and I am sorry we failed you. Your business is very important to us. I personally want to thank you for your comments so that we can address these issues immediately. If you have any other comments you would like to share please contact us directly. I would love another opportunity to show you why we are America's Best Suites. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    15
    17
    30
See reviews for
28
28
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I mde the mistake of staying based on recmendation of local ca bed and breakfast owner. Hotel is old and pictures on Internet are misleading. Go sewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I live about 10 miles away from Lake Charles but we do not take a chance when we want to go to Lake Charles for a night on the town (we don't drink and drive), we always always always stay at this hotel :) You can't beat the price, service, or convenience!!!

It's a 5 minutes or less walk to all the downtown area attractions, restaurants and literally minutes from the casinos.....sure you can stay AT the casino but the hotel is literally 3 times the price of this awesome hotel! The staff is so nice!!! we have our Mardi Gras Balls at the Civic Center (where they also have many things going on and even in ballroom heels, the walk is beautiful along the river and lights :) The staff goes out of their way to make sure everything is to your liking & comfort! Looks great from the outside and even cozier on the inside! I HAVE to mention the Managers Cocktail hour...Everynight (except Sunday, I think ) from 5-7 p.m. each registered guest receives 2 free drinks (yes, they have draft beer and a few hard liquors with mixers) along with appetizers, last weekend they had chicken wings, cheese trays and veggies :) Then for breakfast (which they DO have on Sundays) they have the best make your own waffles, sausage, eggs, biscuits, gravy, oatmeal, juices, milk and superb coffee :) I would NEVER EVER stay anywhere else! The beds are very comfortable and rooms are very spacious! There are lots of places to eat (and drink:) very close so you don't have to drive at all once you check in! Neighborhood is super safe so I am not concerned about my vehicle safety. If you are coming to Lake Charles for an event at the civic center or brickhouse, this is seriously a 3 minute walk to either...but even if you are just coming to hang out in Lake Charles, don't stay anywhere BUT here!!! :):) Also, an amazing clean pool and hot tub :) They have my lifetime reservation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here due to it's proximity to my daughter's Prom site (we live 50 miles away). However next time we stay in Lake Charles we will definitely stay somewhere else. It looked ok on the outside, but upon check-in, we immediately noticed the stench of the motel as well as the fans in the hallway. It had no AC except in the rooms. The room was extremely small, dark, and smelly and looked like it was a 1970's conference motel with it's CRT TV. I hardly slept all night thinking about the filth around me & couldn't wait to go home. For $100.00 per night we expect alot more than this. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler90_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Great place to stay, the heated pool was fabulous, and so was the hot tub, it was freezing outside, and getting into the pool was heavenly. The staff was friendly, a good breakfast buffet, a very nice room with a king bed, little kitchen sink, frig and microwave, nice sitting area and table with chairs to work on. We had a perfect view of the Lake and the beautiful park across the street. It is very convenient to the highway and to town. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to family and friends. Hard to beat for the buck.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

For $69 we had a room with two beds, a kitchen, lounge and bathroom. All were very clean and decent size, although we had a cigarette smoke smell in the doorway the room did not smell inside. The rate also included complimentary buffet breakfast.
The property is situated across the busy road from lake, but as our room was at the back we did not hear traffic.
We were there on a Sunday night and everywhere was closed. The lady on the desk was most obliging making telephone calls to check if restaurants were open, but none were. We went into town and found a self service restaurant which was passable, but the only other choice seemed to be fast food places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2010

the first thing i noticed was the odor (like a natural gas leak) on the first floor by the elevator. we were on the second floor, less of an odor. the towels were crusty - like they hadn't been washed in years. a notice said that sheets would be changed every other day unless we requested them changed daily. we were there for six nights - sheets only changed once. on the last night of our stay we were awakened at 2:30 a.m. by an electrical hum and the entire room was vibrating. we called the front desk, about 20 minutes later a guy comes up and said the alarm clock is causing the problem then proceeds to unplug every lamp and tv - didn't solve the problem. he leaves and calls 30 minutes later to say a compressor in a conference room on the first floor had frozen up and he fixed it.
the free breakfast - i did have an english muffin one morning that was ok.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiWhippany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#7 of 34 in Lake Charles
343 reviews
3.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#23 of 34 in Lake Charles
37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 34 in Lake Charles
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic Lake Charles
2.6 mi away
The Richmond Suites Hotel
The Richmond Suites Hotel
#29 of 34 in Lake Charles
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#12 of 34 in Lake Charles
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 401 Lake Shore Dr, Lake Charles, LA 70601-4286 (Formerly America's Best Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Hotel Lake Charles
Best Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing