We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, strange design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, strange design”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the service was too notch. Can't ask for better people. My only comment is that the design is a little different. Not sure exactly hiw to describe it but I know I didn't like it. And my wife hated not having a tub.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! Our number one goal is to make sure that the guest has a great experience. We are thrilled that you had the chance to experience our one of a kind customer service! SpringHill Suites does have a unique style and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you and your wife again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    66
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
84
45
13
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We are on a one month road trip and needed a place to stay in Lake Charles, LA. What a pleasant surprise. We have stayed at many a Marriott in the past, but not the Springhill Suites. The front office manager Satarie was accommodating, pleasant and extremely helpful. In fact the whole staff was a pleasure. The breakfast in the morning was a welcome delight and was warm still at 9:15 before they close down at 9:30. Oh and the room was fantastic and the bed extremely comfortable. On our way back home, we are going to stop there again. Wonderful fine and we will look up other Springhill's in our travels.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so thrilled to hear that you had the chance to experience our one of a kind service! We strive each and every day to make sure that our guests have a terrific stay! We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very cool colours, and the design and decor is just the perfect combination of modern and minimalist yet homy with a zen touch. Very different from most hotels. I feel I was in my own condo loft style. Breakfast was great, I was able to make myself an egg and cheese croissant which I love and not many hotels offer croissants. I loved the variety of ingredient choices for the oatmeal.
First time in 60 hotels that I've been in the past 5 months that I see a separate semi bathroom from the shower, really cool. And I just loved the desk-office and living room area. really smart space use.
I liked that GM, Operations manager and Sales were waiting for my arrival on Sat. Thanks guys I know managers don't normally work on weekends. Thanks for the support to Running to the End of the World

Did I mention they have front load laundry machines?! very rare too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmkliur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are very happy that we could accommodate you on this amazing journey that you are traveling. We appreciate all the comments that you have made about our hotel. We wish you the best of luck on your journey for a great cause!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile


Reserved last minute room with ease using Marriott App. The room was very nice with a sitting area, desk, mini fridge, coffee pot etc. Updated decor - but the best feature was the mattress - I have severe scoliosis and ALWAYS wake up hurting when we travel - the absolute best nights sleep I have ever had away from home!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AMYAGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are glad that we can provide a great night’s sleep for you! Hopefully we can make this your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Seemed like a brand new hotel. Everything looked new. Nice design and very clean. The layout of the rooms is very nice. Very crisp, clean and modern. Nice features. I would certainly stay again if I need to be in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to experience the cleanliness of our rooms and hotel! We hope you get the chance to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

CB&I Lake Charles books meeting space at SpringHill Suites in Lake Charles quite often for overflow meetings and/or all day meetings and we have been very pleased. We are always provided with first class service from the moment we book our meeting space until our meetings end. My questions/requests are always met with a prompt and friendly response. I would recommend SpringHill Suites to anyone looking for outside meeting space.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We take pride in every function that we hold in our meeting space whether it is 2 people or 200 people. We strive to provide the same level of service to each group that books with us. We hope that you continue to utilize us, we enjoy having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at this property for 6 nights recently while visiting family. I found my room comfortable and the staff friendly, but I preferred the breakfast served at La Quinta Lake Charles, where I stayed last year. I live overseas so when I'm in Lake Charles, I rely on my iPhone via wifi to monitor my email and access the internet. Unfortunately, the wifi network at the hotel would not stay connected to my iPhone for more than 2-3 minutes at a time. And when it disconnected, no matter how hard I tried, I usually couldn't get it to reconnect. The first staff member I asked said she was unaware of any issues. I stopped in at a cell phone store and they recommended I update my software. I tried it, but it didn't solve the issue.

I then asked another staff member who said that apple products generally don't work well with their wifi. And I asked one more person at the front desk and they said that their IT person was coming the next day to fix it. If I am looking to stay in Lake Charles in the future, I would only consider this property if I knew for sure that I wouldn't encounter the same problems with wifi.

I found it significantly quieter than LaQuinta but I did require earplugs during the night or else I would get awakened by the rushing water sound when my neighbor's toilet was flushed.

When I arrived, I read the materials in my room describing the hotel's amenities. One of them was supposed to be 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. I had a 5:33 am flight out of Lake Charles on check out day and was checking out of the hotel at approximately 3:30 am. Could have REALLY used that coffee but there was none. And it wasn't like they ran out. The coffee dispensers weren't out period. Yes, there was a coffee maker in my room but I never use those because there usually isn't a sufficient amount of cream and sugar. Besides, I was expecting coffee in the lobby so I didn't think to use the in-room coffee maker before I checked out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugmama-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your six night stay in Lake Charles! We are glad you found the room comfortable and the staff friendly. Those are the core elements we provide each and every day. We are aware that some devices have trouble connecting to our internet. We have our IT personnel working on a solution to this issue. Coffee is an important staple to many people and we provide that in each guest room. Please stay with us again to see the improvements we have made with our internet service and we promise to make you some coffee!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#12 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#7 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Address: 1551 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing