We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, LA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for four nights and was very pleased with the suites, particularly the service received. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was as expected for continental. Service and attention to requests were outstanding. Although not advertised, be aware that there are no tubs. All units have showers and the overall decor is very modern.

Room Tip: If you require a tub this is not your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalexius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    69
    18
    14
    11
See reviews for
88
48
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Tawakoni
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The room was a double queen bed suite. Excellent for 2 friends to share. The personal were wonderful, and very helpful. The morning breakfast in the lobby was good, they really try to have something for everyone.

Room Tip: We had a street side room, which was a little noisey during the night, but that would never stop me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 727Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The customer service is excellent here! My friends and I really enjoyed the conveniece of being so close to Laberge du Loc casino, but not staying the casino. It is also convenient to many golf courses in the area including Contraband and Gray Planation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel due to its high rating. I read the reviews about road noise and thought that they must be over-stating the problem because the hotel had such a high ranking. Boy was I wrong! The road noise is terrible and lasts all night long. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The free breakfast was typical if unspectacular fare. If you could move the hotel to another location it would've been fine. As it stands, I would never stay here again and would recommend that you look elsewhere as well if you want to sleep at all (or bring ear plugs).

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rodney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Conveniently located just off 210, near restaurants, shopping, and casino. Fairly new construction. Free breakfast in the morning with a broad selection. Unique lobby/dining/bar area with floor to ceiling sheer turquoise curtains and comfortable seating. Rooms are set up great for the business traveler with a small sitting room/couch/desk/fridge/coffee area as you walk in and then on the other side of the desk is the bedroom. There's a small toilet with a tiny sink with a pocket door and then a separate larger sink/vanity area and shower in another room, also a pocket door. Would be great for a family traveling from that standpoint. Do hear some interstate noise but it's not bad at all. Beds/mattresses VERY comfortable. Very courteous staff. Pool and exercise areas.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked here by Laberge du Loc casino as they were full. We really prefered this to the casino hote were we normally stay plus they have a pretty good breakfast.

Room Tip: Request room away from side facing highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We spent three days and nights in this nearly-new hotel. It appears to have been designed by 20-somethings who like ultramodern decor. We were greeted properly at the desk and quickly checked in by a clerk who later called me by name (respectfully by last name). The room was divided into a bedroom area and a sitting area. The bed was comfortable. There was minimal drawer space for storage, and the "closet" amounted to a medium-sized cabinet, but it was adequate for our short stay. The bathroom arrangements were unusual to say the least. Side-by-side were a small room with toilet and corner sink, and next door was a larger bath with sink (about 16 inches of counter space on each side) and a glass-enclosed shower (NO TUB). The shower was designed by an idiot. The sill of its base was perfectly level, so that half the water dripping down the door went into the shower and the other half onto the bathroom floor. I feel sure this happens in every room in the hotel. We just put down an extra tower to absorb the flood. The shower head was NOT the wonderful Speakman found in other Marriott properties; this one had three settings: 1) concentrated, hard, pulsating; 2) wider spread but so little flow it was useless, and 3) a wide circle of fine spray with nothing in the center. One wonders if anyone tested any of this before it was ordered. The room was well-cleaned. Even though our bedroom window was next to a freeway, we heard no highway noise. One very nice feature of the bedroom area was a small high-intensity bedlight attached to the wall on each side of the bed. The lamp was on a flexible gooseneck, so that the small circle of light could be aimed at a book, while the rest of the room remained dark. allowing one of us to read without disturbing the other.
The sitting area had a two-piece firm sofa, which was satisfactory, with a large, bright floor lamp next to it, making reading easy. There was a microwave and a one-cup coffee maker but no sink in the sitting area. A large desk with swivel chair finished the furnishings. There was an ethernet plug and wireless (which we did not use).
The complimentary breakfast was adequate but nothing special. There were several varities of bread, sweet rolls, and muffins (I rather liked the muffins) but no microwave in which to warm them. My wife's oatmeal was cold one morning (again the lack of a microwave was a problem). There were also bowls of sausage, scrambled eggs, and bacon, and there were waffle-making irons.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#9 of 34 in Lake Charles
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#10 of 34 in Lake Charles
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Address: 1551 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing