We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Wingate was conveniently located near casino area in Lake Charles and surrounding restaurants. Paid $225 for a room here. I realize supply and demand may raise rates, but this hotel definitely was NOT worth that price!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guypicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    182
    76
    32
    25
See reviews for
197
189
20
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The location of this hotel was great for our needs. We had an early appointment at Women and Children's Hospital so we stayed here the night before. Check-in was seamless, room, hotel and grounds were spotless and restaurants nearby are numerous as is shopping.

Super place and we would not hesitate to stay here again. Although it is right off the Interstate and we had a room on the Interstate side, we never heard the first sound.

We did not eat breakfast as we had to be at the hospital very early the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Neesey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had never stayed at a Wingate location but I can honestly say, we will be making it a first choice from now on. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. The room was very clean and had a nice decor. We loved the seating area and flat screen. Breakfast was the best we've had for a buffet! No complaints here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel (first time in a Wyndham property) and found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. I usually stay in Hilton properties and would probably compare this to a Hilton Garden Inn. The next time I am in Lake Charles, I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
1.0 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#13 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Address: 1731 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing