We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't blame the manager/staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First off, we found the $155 for one Friday night to be extremely out-of-line, but we always stay at LQ and figured there must be something special.

Road construction was going on in front of the hotel the Friday afternoon we arrived and the Saturday morning we left, so it was difficult getting to our room after a long drive.

When we did check in, we noticed how "clean" the lobby smelled and upon personal inspection on the way to Room 309, we were very pleased with the cleanliness of everything from the carpet to the elevator. Many times a dingy elevator can stick out like a sore thumb, but not at this LQ.

Our room was quite cold when we arrived and there was a sign on the AC unit telling us the thermostat was located on the wall for regulating the room temperature. We noticed a neatly-made bed, nice desk, a console with hidden fridge and microwave and the room was nice and big.

There was a little hum or vibration coming from inside the console that became a little irritating, but we learned to overlook that. It was probably the fridge compressor.

We tried to take a nap before going out for the evening, but were not able to sleep due to the heavy room doors on each room being opened and shut. They literally shook the walls when they were being shut. In addition, the elevator had an audible tone just before the door opened that was entirely too loud. Our room was well away from the elevator, but we heard the bell signal very well each time the elevator opened. Upon investigation, I am sad to say that the opening and shutting doors was being done by hotel personnel--apparently someone in housekeeping with a male supervisor.

Off to our plans for the night and we discovered the road blocks were gone from just outside the hotel parking lot. When we returned, we were surprised to locate a parking space near our entry door. When we got to our room we both showered and hit the bed. It was very comfortable with several pillows and we fell asleep quickly, hoping to sleep until around 10 a.m. the next morning before checking out.

Sometime around 8 a.m. Saturday morning the elevator bell began going off and we began hearing the doors being opened and slammed again. Needless to say, our plans for sleeping in were shot. Since this is a hotel with all rooms inside, it was easy to pick up any vocal noises outside the room. "Housekeeping" was announced along with knocks on the door and if the guests had vacated their room we could tell by the opening and slamming of the heavy entry doors.

The employees were careful to acknowledge us whenever we passed in the hallways and met on the elevator.

I blame the noise that disturbed us on the people who designed the building. The doors were the heaviest I have ever seen and they shut with a loud thud each time they are closed. The loud "ding dong" elevator bell had to register heavy on everyone's ear drums.

Other than the doors, housekeeping announcements and loud elevator bell, we enjoyed our stay, even though $155 plus tax ($177) was entirely too much for this hotel. They were completely booked up, so I guess they can charge what they want.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mucholdernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 375 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Shalimar, Florida, USA
1
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nice rooms with a very comfortable bed, I look forward to my next opportunity to stay in this La Quinta. Great breakfast in the morning, I personally love the biscuits n gravy. The staff was friendly, and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily, and well stocked. Great job guys!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Jasmine was assigned to my room and did a fantastic job. Additionally, the blower dryer shorted out and the next morning I left a note for Jasmine; requested she replace the blow dryer. I returned from training later and was delighted to see that she replaced the blow dryer.

Great job, Jasmine. God bless you.

M. Fontenot

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that Jasmine takes care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLF0238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
San Antonio, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed September 23, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I would first like to preface this with the fact that i did reach out to the regional manager with our concerns but he has yet to respond.
When we arrived at our room late. I discovered a dirty washcloth in the tub. I called the desk and expressed my concern the room had not been cleaned. The young girl who answered was not prepared to address a customers concerns of this sort. She stated perhaps the housekeeper had not seen the rag, when I responded 'so they didn't clean the tub?' She stated "I don't know I just got here at 11." She ended up changing our room where I found again in the tub a black ring around a closed drain where it appeared dirty water had stood until it slowly drained. We had to.purchased some Lysol spray to disinfected the room ourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have utilized the meeting facility at this hotel twice already. This truly is a top-notch hotel from the super-friendly staff to the cleanliness of the facility. Very, very impressed by all!!! Will be bringing lots of repeat business. Have to agree, Alicia is so nice and friendly to work with. Kudos to you for a job well done! You are appreciated!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbthibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Pearland, Texas, USA
1
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 37 in Lake Charles
371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 37 in Lake Charles
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area

Address: 1201 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8370
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range: $103 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing