We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but lacking comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly but lacking comfort”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, but the bedding was not comfortable. The pillows were the worst, consisting of shredded foam and providing little support. The common areas of the hotel were very attractive and well laid out.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Holiday Inn thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in our area.

We appreciate your review, which we take seriously towards further improvement.

Housekeeping and room maintenance staff is working on changing the beds and pillows which are most comfortable to our guests.

I am sure that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at our hotel and feel the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    34
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
34
39
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaplan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nicest , friendliest staff we have ever had at a hotel! we honestly felt like we've been knowing them for years. Bed was soooo comfortable and rooms were very clean. very short driving distance to l'auberge casino. Absolutely LOVED this place!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I spend half my life in hotels these days, and for people to rate this hotel as terrible is absurd. This is a very modern property that's well maintained and clean. The staff are very pleasant, and if you visit the hotel more than a couple of times, don't be surprised if they remember your name and greet you personally when you arrive and leave for the day. Certainly a cut above the service one normally gets at this price point.

The rooms are a decent size with plenty of outlets, the restaurant serves typical unhealthy American hotel food, nothing to write home about. They have a full bar and a limited snack shop. Restaurants and shops are a walk or a short drive away, as is the mall.

I've stayed here about six times now on various business trips, and have no complaints. They just improved their Internet too which is now fast enough to stream HD which is great.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the second floor overlooking the front of the hotel. There's a nice staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Everyone was so helpful and friendly there. The room was fine but was surprised by the age of the hotel and already there was paint peeling in the bathroom, etc. The air didn't seem to run properly but overall I was happy with the room - very comfortable bed. We ate breakfast our first morning there in the restaurant. Service was okay - not great - and food wasn't that great at all for the price. I'd skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Located near a mall and restaurants. 5 minutes from downtown and the lake. Room was comfy and very clean. Outside of hotel well maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful. True Louisiana hospitality. Definitely will return on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We found this hotel to be a really good value.. Its a third the price of main area attraction, L'Auberge Casio hotel and only minutes away. The rooms are large, the bar is cute, the staff is friendly and the food is great. Dwite , the front desk personnel, shared his recommendation for the local Rib Joint with such passion that we surprised him with a take-out order as a token of our appreciation..what a meal and what a great hotel experience.

Room Tip: Just show up at the from desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burroclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

From the time we checked in until we checked out we had a great experience. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#14 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Address: 2940 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing