We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel (More than I expected)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

First, let me state that this property is new, clean, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room amenities exceed what is expected in this class. I had a comfortable bed with choice of pillow (firm or soft -- labeled as such). Slept like a baby here. Room and bathroom were large and spotless. Two telephones, a desk (workstation), dresser, flat screen TV, and a lounge chair with matching ottoman still leave a lot of open space in the room. Plenty of outlets to charge and power the laptop, iPod, GPS, and cell phone. Refrigerator and Microwave sit in a separate area with cabinet space for your snacks.

I used the business center to print some documents and the laser printer ran out of toner. A staff member came and replaced it within 5 minutes. The deadbolt lock was aligned very well and was hard to close. I informed a staff member I ran across in the hall and it was fixed by the time I came back.

Prices for drinks, etc. are reasonable and lower than at many other hotels I have stayed at.

Overall a great experience and I highly recommend this property if you need to stay in the Lake Charles area. (good location and close to everything as well)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nighttwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed one night. The hotel is pretty new and was mostly clean. There was a hair on the toilet seat, but when my husband called the front desk, the girl that checked us in came up and cleaned it herself right away. She was very apologetic and friendly. Otherwise, the room was clean.

We checked thoroughly for evidence of bed bugs, and found none.

The only down side to the room was that the AC unit didn't seem to get rid of the humidity in the room. It did blow cold, though.

The restaurant in the lobby had decent food, but the service left something to be desired. I ordered the egg burrito with no bacon, and apparently the cook thought I needed meat, so he added sausage, which was not listed as an ingredient on the menu. I had to send it back, since I don't eat meat. It was right the second time.

My husband ordered the french toast with a side of ham. He was given spam. The menu did not say it was spam. It was called ham on the menu. I told him to send it back, but he was hungry enough that he just decided to keep it.

I ordered a large OJ, he ordered a small OJ. Our glasses were the same size, but we were charged two different amounts. Then the waitress came out with a carafe of OJ and asked if we wanted more OJ. We said sure, not knowing we would be charged for two OJ's each. We didn't complain because we figured we should have asked if it was extra.

Overall, the room was fine, but the restaurant was nothing special. We should have known, since we were the only customers there that morning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrapulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I have two complaints about our 3 day stay at this hotel. First, I was sick with a flu shortly after arriving. When I finally left my room and requested service, we were told that house cleaning leaves at 1pm - so no fresh towels or bed service. Secondly, I left some business clothes behind (my own fault, I admit!) but the hotel never called to inform me, and I had to call them three times before they told me that my stuff was not in lost and found!! My theory is that one of the
cleaning ladies has a nice new wardrobe at my expense. Very disappointing - especially since
they were new clothes!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Holiday Inn.

Thanks for your stay and the review.

We are taking effective measures to each of your observation.

We won’t justify, but rather invite you to stay again and feel the new experience.

Guest reviews always help us to improve.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I stayed at this property in early November. I had been a guest previously and travel often to Lake Charles on business. On my latest trip I brought along my checkbook since I had some bills to pay. My stay was fine, until I returned home. While reconciling my checking account statement, I discovered a missing check. And, in fact, someone had gone shopping at a local discount store in Lake Charles and forged my stolen check to make their purchase. I immediately notified the hotel and asked to speak with the general manager. I explained my problem, was told he was out, but that he would return my call. Of course, he never did. I then contacted Holiday Inn corporate and was given the same run-around ..... they contacted the hotel and gave the manager 48 hours to contact me ...... again, the manager never responded. I was told that corporate would be fining the franchisee (hotel) for their non-response. Otherwise, corporate told me there was nothing they could do. Actually, there was nothing they WOULD do. I told corporate they should send me the fine as reimbursement for my stolen check. I am supposedly an 'elite' priority club member ..... translation? It means nothing! My company has spent thousands of dollars in hotel costs and when I am the victim of theft, neither the hotel or corporate does much to help. I'm angry about the theft, but even more irate that the hotel does not even offer as much as a courtesy phone call to discuss the matter. My advice? Avoid this hotel at all costs ----- particularly if you bring anything of value into the room!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dallasman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your stay at the Holiday Inn.

We noted your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us and shall do the best.

We have ensured that such a thing never happens again to any guest and the hotel staff behaves in the most guest friendly manner.

You can have a comfortable and secure stay next time. Trust us and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I usually stay at LaBuerge DuLac but decided to stay here tonight for something smaller. I was surprised by all of the ameneities for a much smaller hotel.
The bar and restaraunt was great, food good and affordable, great waitstaff/bartender. Most impressive was individual tv's and plugs for your laptop at each booth-perfect for business travelers trying to work and dine. hotel clean and felt much safer than other lake charles locations. Also a microwave and fridge in room and room service. two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondyandy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

5 minute drive to Lauberge du Lac, about 10-15 minute to Isle of Carpi. Rooms are spotless and grounds also very well kept. Staff was courteous and helpful. Something to keep in mind--check in is at 3pm, so if you get there early, just go kill sometime down the road at Lauberge.

Great value for the $$--cant go wrong here. Highly recommend for any stay at Lake Charles and proximity to the major casinos.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Hotel was nice but encountered severe rash due to the Hot Tub being unclean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasborn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks you for choosing the Holiday Inn.

We appreciate your review and are really sorry for the experience.

We take guest reviews seriously and shall take appropriate actions to check and improve all the amenities.

Anyway, we won’t disappoint you next time.

Please consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 38 in Lake Charles
380 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 38 in Lake Charles
1,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range: $97 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing