We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and comfortable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel. The hotel Staff was friendly, breakfast was good with a good variety. Water pressure could have been better but there was plenty of hot water! The beds were comfortable and we were pleased there was a fridge in the room. It was convenient to the interstate. Rooms were quiet and spacious. They also had good security so we felt safe parking our new car in the parking lot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review!
It is nice to hear the good things from our guests too!
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
28
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

For the price I paid I was expecting more. The furniture and room was dated and needs an update. There was a wedding party and it was very noisy. Breakfast was not great. Better off finding something further away if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hospitality911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I apologize you were less than pleased with your stay. We are in the process of updating our exterior and interior to better serve our guests. Over the next two months, we will receive our new bedding program and by April, we will have updates to our bathroom as well. I hope you will come back again soon to see how beautiful our property is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
357 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We arrived and they did let us check in early, but we are not impressed with this Comfort Suites.
It could use a little work..
1. Drain Spouts on the outside not even connected
2. Hair in Sink
3. Only three tissues in the bathroom stuck in the Kleenex box
4. VERY THIN toilet tissue
5. Slippery Tub and floor.. Be very careful
6. Pool was not ready for use.. Very dirty.
7. Curtains needed pressing.. Very wrinkled in the breakfast room
8. Places where the walls had been repaired but not painted
9. Just not clean!!
10. Dirty windows
Just not up to Par.....
On the good note, Breakfast was good!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
I regret to hear we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. In regards to the drains, they are off because we have a crew painting the outside of our building and they have to be removed in order to do this, I will make sure to get some signage outside to note this during the weekend. I do not see where you complained during your stay or my staff would have been more than happy to move you to a new room, I will discuss the hair issue and Kleenex check with my Head Housekeeper. We do provide slip resistant bath mats in each bathroom. Our pool man comes every Tuesday and Friday to service our pool and our Maintenance Man inspects it the rest of the week. However, our city received over 7 inches of rain Friday/Saturday day and night so come Sunday our pool was probably a mess and I apologize we were not able to have that ready for you at your time of need. I will assign a special project to my breakfast attendant to service her window treatments. We are in the process up updating all of our public spaces and the process takes 3 days, I will make sure we have signage to apologize for the inconvenience during this process. You are correct in regards to our windows being dirty, the painting crew will be washing all of them as soon as they finish painting our building. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast though! I do apologize for the mess during our improvement process and I invite you back with a 20% discount to see all of our improvements you saw in process!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is truly a hidden treasure found! Love the fact that it sets away from the well traveled road. It's like being secluded in a busy city and still close enough to everything the town has to offer. From a speedy, enthusiastic front desk attendant, check in with Allison was a breeze. Rooms are spacious and clean with all the modern coveniences, a sitting room, and a comfy bed. There is a wonderful variety of choices from something hot to something cold and even something for a healthy start. And it is always good. The on premise bar and work out room are a great, convenient asset. We even got in a nice relaxing time sitting around the pool. All the staff from front desk to house keeping and everyone in between are nice, energetic and willing to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. They don't hesitate helping you find the sights to see. They go the extra mile to make your stay in Lake Charles the best it can be. We will definitely stay there again with no hesitation. I would recommend staying!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and I am pleased to hear we made your stay memorable. Our staff understands the importance of going the extra mile to make a guest's stay a memory rather than another forgotten hotel stay. Thank you for your detailed review of our amenities, services, and staff! It is nice to hear we are doing a good job and my staff will be happy to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband, my mom and I stayed there for 3 days. Lets just say that the stay was great! First off they are pet friendly and allow larger dogs which is hard to find. Next the front office manager was very nice when we checked in and was very helpful! The rooms were nice and clean! Even though they are a comfort suites the rooms are not that large that was the only down fall over my whole stay. Breakfast was always hot and fully stocked!! All the staff were wonderful and nice! I will stay there again when I am in the area!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texaschick2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and your dogs were wonderful! We love to meet our guests pets. I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with our hotel and we look forward to your next stay in Lake Charles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms, well appointed and very clean. It was nice to have a small area with a sofa to chill out. The only downside was that its not located near any "non-commercial" restaurants. However, a 6 minute cab ride took us to the Luna restaurant in the old town and that was just great! Good place to rest up in Lake Charles.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacknclare8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am pleased you enjoyed our property and it is always wonderful to hear reviews from our guests. Take care and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly. Rooms are clean. There is a small pool, it was clean. The wifi was not good. It would connect and disconnect constantly. it may have been because we were on he 3rd floor all the way to the back. Beds are firm. Price was decent. We paid about $100 per night after all the taxes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are always looking for review and feedback from our guest to better improve our standards. Please come back in a few months and take advantage of our new bedding program and Market Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites
#10 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
#6 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1016 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing