We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!!”
Review of Steamboat Bill's

Steamboat Bill's
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Kenedy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband, friends, and I planned our travel so that we could eat lunch at Steamboat Bill's, and we weren't disappointed! Everything we ordered--the shrimp pistolettes, the crawfish pistolettes, shrimp etouffee, the gumbo--was delicious. The place is crowded and lively and fun! If you're ever in the Lake Charles area, stop and eat--we always do!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    303
    108
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced for mostly frozen French fries”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Convenient to the interstate but there's got to be a better restaurant in Lake Charles. Tiny serving of cole slaw. Fried fish and softshell crab were okay but a huge pile of frozen French fries that weren't even hot. And who ever heard of serving fried catfish without hush puppies. Very disappointed that it could advertise that it got voted best seafood restaurant in Lake Charles--most likely one of the worst!

Helpful?
1 Thank MissKVL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, CA
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Crawfish and Gumbo!!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Crawfish by the pound! What else can you say? Ate here for lunch. I had been to the other location previously but this place was hopping! The food was good (spiced crawfish, corn on the cob and gumbo) and the service was very attentive. This place is crowded and noisy. Not ideal for a quiet meal but great for family gatherings or getting a bite to eat if you don't mind the commotion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChangeAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location & Hrs - Disappointed”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were passing by after 9pm and ready to try famous Louisiana famous Cajun Creole food. For our surprise and three other drivers and passengers ready to eat in there, this restaurant was close at 9pm. Why choose a location near to a highway if you don't intend to be open late?
A waiter told us that they don't serve late and still people inside eating.

Sadly, we couldn't enjoy your food. Again, why to be located near to a highway if you are not intend to serve later at night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adseam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always GOOD!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Great food but a little pricey. No other complaints. Large variety, Always fresh. Nice location. A most stop if nearby, we always do.

Helpful?
Thank flow p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamboat Bill's also viewed

 

Been to Steamboat Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing