We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What seafood should taste like”
Review of Steamboat Bill's

Steamboat Bill's
Ranked #1 of 10 Quick Bites in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nothing fancy but wonderful fresh, fried seafood. A vast improvement from gross food at Lauberge restaurants. Easy on and off location from freeway. No wait and a good place to take a family. Good service and friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank jewelryjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,130 - 1,134 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This is not the place you want to bring your date. But it is the place to eat hearty! Great red beans and rice! Cajun fried fish was just okay? Atmosphere nothing to write home about. But you'll be glad you stopped just to say
you've been to Steamboat Bill's. Everybody should have the experience at least once.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sugieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have visited this restaurant a few times. The seafood platter is our favorite - it's so big, my husband and I share it. There are always too many fries on the plate, but the food is always good.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crosbymaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The restaurant is what you expect in a seafood place, bright & cheery. The people are friendly and treat you like you belong. You leave with a full belly of really good seafood cooked Louisiana style, satisfied with what you spent. What more can you ask for?

Date of visit: September 2013
Thank Janxcdlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have eaten here at Steamboat Bills on I-10 on both recent visits to Lake Charles and enjoyed our meal both times. I enjoyed the fried Jumbo shrimp on both visits and was tasty each time. My husband ordered shrimp platter on the first visit, but ate too much due to large plate of food so he ordered the shrimp on the second trip and enjoyed both tremendously. The bread is good too. The dress is casual and we have never felt hurried along as some reviewers have stated, but we eat early to avoid long waits at restaurants. We are planning our next trip for October and believe me that Steamboat Bills will be on our itinerary.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamboat Bill's also viewed

 
Lake Charles, LA
Lake Charles, LA
 

Been to Steamboat Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing