We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lake Charles institution”
Review of Steamboat Bill's

Steamboat Bill's
Ranked #1 of 266 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“A Lake Charles institution”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This place is something else! The staff are great and the food comes fast and plentiful. The staff do not push you to order fast and in fact we were told to take our time, even on a busy Saturday night, Im guessing the owners are reading these reviews and making changes, as everyone was very courteous to us who had no idea what we were doing.

The house baked potato was great and the combination plate was good too. The star of the show was the boudain ball if i am honest, great taste and no sauce required. The only letdown was the roll which tasted deep fried and for me ruined the taste of the etoufee pistiolet, but maybe Im not used to the taste of this type of bread.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    296
    107
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the place to go for excellent Cajun cuisine. We loved it as always. Had the seafood gumbo and the shrimp ettoufee. Both were delicious. Will order them again. My husband had the shrimp poor boy and was it ever loaded with shrimp. He also ordered the seafood gumbo and enjoyed it as well. The service was friendly and the place was packed with its lunch crowd yet everyone was effecient in their duties. Our table was cleared as we finished an item and the water glasses kept full even though it was really busy. Hats off to all. We will stop by again on our way through Lake Charles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mommybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Touristy”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Poor service to first-time visitors. You walk up to a counter & order from an overhead menu board. Since we needed time to review menu, we were rudely told to stand aside "behind the yellow line, til we knew what we wanted."
Shrimp was tasteless; catfish just okay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank R A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good spice on the gumbo- except it was way too salty.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stopped by here on our way to Houston - so we would not have to stop in Beaumont. Looked like a fun place for kids. A lot of fried food! And a lot of obese people too! The gumbo was tasty but too salty. Excellent iced tea - and the Guiness Stout was only $3.00. You order at the counter and they bring the food to you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trawlerdoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I Just Don't Get It”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I know everybody seems to love this place but, honestly, I just don't get the hype. First the food: It was average. All the fried food tasted the same, and was overcooked to the point of being tough and rubbery. Not really greasy, but kind of salty and hard. I ordered a seafood platter and my husband ordered the shrimp & oyster combo. We also ordered boiled shrimp to bring home with us. The stuffed crab and shrimp had NO, and I mean NO crabmeat or shrimp in the stuffing. Just mush and undercooked onions. I would swear they were from the grocer's freezer. As I said, the fried fish, shrimp and oysters all tasted the same. The boiled shrimp we brought home tasted more like crawfish because of the seasoning. Just not good. Now, the service: Everybody in the front of the room, where they herd you to ordering stations like cattle, seemed to be in a bad mood. Testy and unsmiling. Once we were seated, however, the wait staff was pleasant, friendly, and efficient. The system seems to work for them because the whole experience lasted about 40 minutes from start to finish, but didn't really create an enjoyable Friday night for us. I know I may be treading on sacred ground, but I've had MUCH better food elsewhere and will probably not return to Steamboat Bill's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lljun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamboat Bill's also viewed

 

Been to Steamboat Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing