We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garden Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel has had some updates. It reminds me of a motel six. The stair ways smelled like urine. If we were not there for an on site conference, I would have checked out! Once we walked up the stairs with our luggage and arrived at our room we noticed that the bed linens were not clean, we found hair and other dirt particles, the bed looked as if a kid made it up. None of the linen were tucked in. The hotel immediately sent someone to change the linens Ms Lena was very sweet! She did an excellent job. We ate dinner in the restaurant downstairs that was cold. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 484 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Emliy was very nice, appreciate every thing she did to make our stay wonderful. I am retired Colnel from Army, I have never had better treatment anywhere world wide.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linden c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn over New Years. When we arrived they gave us a room that was already occupied. Apparently, they had given the room to some one else, but did not update the records. We ended up in a room on the outside that was in a great need of upgrade. The TV was the old, large variety with poor reception. The toilet handle seemed to stick and the furnishings were from the 80's. We asked for another room the next day and were moved into the interior of the hotel above the pool. The room was nicer, but the noise from the pool and the foyer started very early. We ate the breakfast buffet each day because it was half price. But, it wasn't even worth that. Everything was either dryed out from the heat lamps are full of grease. There was nothing going on for New Years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank COL39701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebuchert, General Manager at The Garden Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

On behalf of our Hotel we would like to apologize for the room placement situation. We have investigated and have conducted an appropriate counseling as guests have the right to expect a fresh and vacant room upon arrival. Regarding the TV sets, as of January 6, 2012 our television upgrade project was completed. All rooms now have flat screens with HD quality. The room you were assigned was one of several which did not have the new flat screen TV's. Should your travels return you to the Lafayette area please call me direct such that I may assure an upgraded room for your visit.

Ed Buchert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hotel was excellent we stayed in a park & out room with exterior entrance. The room was spotless, there was a newspaper each day, bath & shower, coffee maker, iron & board, hair dryer, big TV, two big beds with choice of firm or soft pillow & wi fi, there was an excellent complimentary breakfast where you ere spoilt for choice.
The staff were helpful & freindly and there was avery nice pool.
There is not much around the hotel there's a supermarket & a very dismal mostly empty shopping mall. It'a good base to take a trip from though

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TubesPendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I love this particular Holiday Inn. The front desk was very accommodating, knowledgeable and nice. We got an inside room which was lovely. It was huge for the price, clean and very comfortable. There are a variety of firm and soft pillows on the bed, the mattress is just awesome and the bedding and sheets were immaculate. We also had a sofa bed in the room (which we didn’t use) but the sofa section was very comfortable also. We visited in late December for a few days and didn’t get a chance to enjoy some of the ammonites that the hotel has to offer, but will definitely be back during warmer months to enjoy. I enjoyed my experience and will be back SOON!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were staying in Lafayette for a party, came in a little late, desk staff was very friendly, we got to our room and the key wouldn't work, thought maybe it was just us old people, and they sent a engineer up to take care of it before we could return to our room, what great service!! We told him we would go to the lounge while he worked, and he found us in the lounge to give us our new key!! The whole experience was top of the line, will return when in the area!!

Room Tip: first floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had our La School Bus Convention there this weekend.Everybody said it was one of the best conventions they attended.I have to agree. The staff was one of the best I ever worked with. Starting with Sarah and Carla and ending with Emily and eveybody in between.Shawn carved a school bus ice carving that was out of this world.Everybody was so impressed. The staff was so great everything we asked for they did.The food was awesome!! Thanks to Derrick,Phil,J.J.,Shawn,Nelson, Miki and eveybody else it was a wonderful experience.Thanks Gisele

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette, LA
Red Roof Inn Lafayette, LA
#32 of 50 in Lafayette
64 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vermilion River Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lafayette Inn
Best Western Lafayette Inn
#15 of 50 in Lafayette
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Howard Johnson Lafayette
#37 of 50 in Lafayette
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Plaza Hotel

Address: 2032 NE Evangeline Trwy, Lafayette, LA 70501-1926 (Formerly Ramada Lafayette Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range: $75 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lafayette Us 167 Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing