We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average low end motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Lafayette/University
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average low end motel”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Lots of lots of bad reviews for this place. I however booked it via priceline for $30 so I can't complain. Yes the bathroom was sort of a mess, the walls were unevenly painted and looked stained and worn, but the bed was clean and comfy so for the price I doubt I could have found anything better. I wouldn't stay here for a vacation, but just passing through it was ok for one night. Highway is very close so beware if you are a light sleeper.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stalvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
I apologize for any issues you had while you were here. If you would like to contact me about your recent stay I would really appreciate it. We hope that you will choose us again the next time you are in Lafayette, LA.
Derek Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    45
    55
    100
See reviews for
94
43
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice. The location is perfect for us. Really close to where we are visiting. The first time we stayed, we had a non-smoking king sized bed room. The mattress left a lot to be desired. It sunk in the middle, and I felt like I was rolling all night. We decided to try this hotel again for our return trip because the price is very reasonable. We again chose a non-smoking king room. This time the bed was perfect. As soon as I laid down, I was asleep. I slept so late that I missed the free breakfast. The only issue I had with the room was that the shower head is turned sideways and there's no way to turn it toward the center. This made it a bit difficult to shower. I would recommend this hotel. The only reason I gave it a 4 was because of our first experience there, the showerhead, and because of some paint touch-ups needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinic1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Days Inn/Lafayette. We appreciate your business and the fact that you took time out of your busy day to give us a review. Have a great weekend, and we hope to see you again, soon.
Derek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the professional staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. The free breakfast was nice and the free wifi was a bonus. We will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property and staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was ok for one night but it was pretty run down and the first room we went in stunk like someone was smoking weed and then I saw a drag queen staying at the hotel so it was all an interesting experience and stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying at Days Inn Lafayette. We had a Mardi Gras Krewe staying at the property and they were in costumes for a Ball they were attending. We hope you will give us another chance when you are in the area. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of the problems. Thank you for staying at Days Inn Lafayette.
Sincerely,
Derek Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lafayette hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#35 of 50 in Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Howard Johnson Lafayette
#33 of 50 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Lafayette Inn
Best Western Lafayette Inn
#14 of 50 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Lafayette North/I-10
0.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
#13 of 50 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lafayette/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lafayette/University

Property: Days Inn Lafayette/University
Address: 1620 N University Ave, I-10, Exit 101, Lafayette, LA 70506-1020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lafayette/University 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisiana is one of the most culturally dynamic states in all of the USA. Filled with beautiful landscapes, fresh faces and amazing food, what more could you ask for? The best reason to stay here, in the heart of Cajun Country, is not only for your environment but for your soul. You will experience some of the most warming sounds and tastes a place has to offer. In the surrounding are, there are tons of choices from Festivals to tours. Great music, food and fun! Plantations line the sunsets here in Louisiana, and it will leave you wondering if it were real or if it were a painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Lafayette/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing