We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbug experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Lafayette/University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Lafayette/University
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Conroe, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bedbug experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

My husband and I checked into this motel on October 21, 2011. When we checked into our room (105), the receptionist said she would call us in 10 minutes to see if all was OK with the room (unusual in my experience). We did an inspection for bedbugs as we had been doing during this road trip and didn't find any. We saw a spot on one of the box springs but didn't recognize it as a sign of bedbug activity. When we woke up, there were blood stains on the sheets and we saw one live bug. When we reported it to reception, we got an apology and a refund. The maintenance man told us they had treated the room for bedbugs and the room had been closed up for a month. He was extremely apologetic and we suspected he may have been the owner or manager. We have researched the subject of bedbugs and will be more alert and knowledgeable in future inspections. We took the precaution of drying our bedclothes and my pillow at a laundromat on the highest temperature for 45 minutes to kill any bugs or their eggs. I feel we dodged a bullet since we didn't take the problem home with us. Five days later, I started reacting to the bites (I got over two dozen), which didn't show up or itch right away. A few days ago, I checked bedbugreports.com and didn't see this motel as having a report of activity, which it should have. It was a truly negative experience and I am warning my family and friends to be cautious when it comes to this growing problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Kenny Picard, Manger, Days Inn in Lafayette, LA

I am very sorry too hear about the problem with the bed bugs, we have now train you staff to inspect the in more detail on finding the bed bugs and to report it to mangers on duty. That way we can debug the room and give it a real good cleaning that way we no will have this problem again. And we are really sorry you had that experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    45
    54
    91
See reviews for
91
40
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had booked this hotel randomly as it was close to where we were going. It was a family trip that we had for about 12 rooms. Later on a day before our arrival we saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we might have made a mistake as it was not good. But unfortunately it was too late to cancel and so we just decided to go on with it, even though we were scared of what the rooms would be like. Everything changed upon our arrival. The Front Desk Host was very friendly and welcoming. Everything was ready upon check-in, they had even turned th Ac's on for us before our arrival.The rooms were very nice and clean. Beds were well made and comfortable. Fresh paint on the walls made it look nice. We had some technical issues with one room but since the maintenance was gone they offered us another room even though we had used the bathroom in the previous room which was very kind of them. They helped with us some informatiob that we needed, courtesy call were made to check and see if everything was ok in the rooms. The following morning we went for breakfast and it was nice, fresh and delicious. My favourite part was the fresh waffle batter where you can easily make your own waffles in less than 3 minutes. LOVED IT. Over all our experince was very nice. All the bad reviews can be over passed. We enjoyed our stay and would choose this property again for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaky_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and are happt that you enjoyed yourself and can not wait to see you again.

Thanks Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
468 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Initially went to another motel on the other side of the freeway . Three cop cars , with lights and sirens going got there just before us . We made a u-turn and headed to the Days Inn . There was another cop with someone pulled over just at the entrance to the motel . It was just after dark , so it was difficult to tell what the area looked like . We got a room and discovered there were only 2 small towels in the bathroom . I went to the front desk and the woman was very nice and phoned the maid service and within 5 minutes someone brought enough towels to our room . Our room was ok , I certainly didn't feel like I had to tip the maid though .
It was very hot out , but there seemed to be an unusual amount of people walking /hanging around the parking area . Nothing occurred during the night , but I never felt totally safe . I moved the big chair in front of the door . Would absolutely find something else at a different freeway exit next time .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, General Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Fist of all thank you for considering our property for your stay. It seems that you did not have a very pleasant stay with us for which we apologize. Regarding the traffic you saw outside, our property is at a location which cops tend to use as a pull over spot or a hiding spot to catch any traffic violation. Despite of us complaining to the department it is still hard to stop them from pulling over people on our property. For us our guests security is utmost important and for that we have increased police patrolling on our property which has shown a difference. We appreciate you letting us know about the situation and we at Days Inn hope to see you again soon to give us a second chance and offer you service to make your money spent worth penny to penny.
Thank You for choosing Days Inn, Lafayette, La.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lafayette hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Unfortunately, I had to tell my 12 year old daughter what a prostitute was from staying here--- (later she called it "the Ho-Tel"--where do they learn this stuff?) At 10 pm, when we came back from a softball tournament in Crowley, all hot and sweaty, our entire team abandoned the place: the pool was scuzzy, the rooms dirty with food and insects, there was a giant rat trap outside one room. But the real killer was the prostitute with her john, all liquored up. One dad is a law enforcement officer, and on his advice, we all left. Then they had the gall to never respond to our many complaints filed on their "customer service" line...This is it for Days Inn--never again! we left for the Pear Tree by Drury across University Avenue--twice as much, but at least we felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLAmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, General Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience which was caused to your group with your stay with us at Days Inn. Regarding the prostitute we did take immediate actions towards that guest for which the cops were called, they did not find anything wrong but still for the safety of our property we asked them to leave. We do apologize for the condition of the rooms as we never had that situation before. All the room were deep cleaned after the situation. We appreciate all the comments and feedback whether good or bad and are looking forward to see you guys again in near future hoping to give us a second chance.
Thank You for choosing Days Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

This Days Inn is very clean and very quiet. My wife and I were assigned a second floor room. We did our usual bed bug check. Room was up to date and everything worked fine. The complimentary breakfast was just fine and hot waffles were a plus for our needs.The staff was very freindly., Looks like property had done a major remodeling.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTATES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, General Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
First of all thank you for choosing Days Inn for your stay. We appreciate all your kind words for our service that was provided to you. Our goal is to provide the best to the customers for the price you spend on us. And it seems that we have achieved a step towards our goal of providing service, which is as bright as the sun. We are definitely looking forward to welcome you again and give us a second chance to help you better than before.
Once again Thank You for choosing Days Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this Days Inn in lafayette while attending a wedding nearbyl. The hotel appears to be recently renovated, and hence looks great on the outside (the building is a bit dated on the outside). The location of the hotel is quite central just by the exit That said, the rooms were quite spacious and well furnished. We were impressed with how great the staff was, and truly enjoyed our stay.It houses one of the largest pool in the town and kids had lot of fun. They do have a great breakfast area where they serve hot breakfast everyday morning.. Staff is friendly and will by at your call any time you need them. Overall perfect hotel, perfect price, clean rooms and great staff.. Definitely recommend..

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
We are so very glad that you stayed with us and that enjoyed your visit. Your comments describe perfectly the type of experience which we try to provide for our guests . Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have never been so scared. When we arrived, there were several people drinking beer and talking right in front of our room. Then, after we got ready to go to bed, we laid down and heard yelling and screaming out in the parking lot. My husband looked out the window and said it looked like a gang fight was going on. He got dressed and went out to see if he needed to call the police. Fortunately, they had already been called. SIX units arrived and they did not make one arrest, even though some of the men had guns and baseball bats (no exaggeration). Real nice Lafayette PD - sure makes me feel safe. We dared not leave our room again until daybreak. Also, the people in the room next to us slept with the TV on all night and it was just like it was in our room because the walls are so paper thin. HORRIBLE, SCARY experience!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WearyTraveler56463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnuniversity, Manager at Days Inn Lafayette/University, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
The hotel values comments and feedback from all of our guests. It is unfortunate that this guest did not have an enjoyable stay. Management takes noise complaints very seriously, we address them as quickly and efficiently as possible to ensure our guests are having an enjoyable stay, however we cannot address concerns if they have not been brought to our attention during a guests stay.. We want to reassure our loyal guests and future guests that the hotel takes their security very seriously and we have zero tolerance for guests that behave inappropriately during their stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#34 of 49 in Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lafayette North
1.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Howard Johnson Lafayette
#31 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
#13 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Lafayette North/I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lafayette/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lafayette/University

Property: Days Inn Lafayette/University
Address: 1620 North University Avenue, I-10, Exit 101, Lafayette, LA 70506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lafayette/University 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisiana is one of the most culturally dynamic states in all of the USA. Filled with beautiful landscapes, fresh faces and amazing food, what more could you ask for? The best reason to stay here, in the heart of Cajun Country, is not only for your environment but for your soul. You will experience some of the most warming sounds and tastes a place has to offer. In the surrounding are, there are tons of choices from Festivals to tours. Great music, food and fun! Plantations line the sunsets here in Louisiana, and it will leave you wondering if it were real or if it were a painting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Lafayette/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing