We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, strange owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank swx5
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Not all the reviews were good for this H.J.,however I decided to stay a night there anyway.I was given a room upstairs(all smoking rooms are second floor).When I entered the room the a.c. had been shut off,but in a short amount of time it got cool.The room was in very good order,clean and had plenty of towels,a nicely made bed,clean restroom.Shampoo,lotion,soap and coffee were provided.The breakfast area was kind of small,and was I think the choises were skimpy,but over all a great stay for 72.00.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Not much positive to say about this hotel experience, other than it was cheap. However, you get what you pay for. Here's what we got:

1. Bad area of town. We watched 4 black males walk between the area hotel parking lots, hiding behind vehicles. We reported it to the front desk. They didn't seem too concerned.
2. Advertised continental breakfast=stale mini cinnamon buns and orange juice. You could only have 3 buns!
3. Musky smell to room.
4. Air vent in bathroom was so loud and clanky that we couldn't stand to even turn it on. Which meant no lights. We bathed in the dark with the door open to avoid the noise.
5. The sink in bathroom area had not been cleaned. I had to clean it before we used it. The bathroom floor was also wet.
6. The hotel is apparently family owned. So dad & son run the front desk. Mother & daughters (?) are the cleaning crew. Customer service left MUCH to be desired. That's putting it nicely.

Do yourself a favor....spend $20 more and get a room on the other side of town! Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATraveler829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rudest person who even cursed at us before we even got checked in because we gave my id and my boyfriends debit card. He stated I don't have to give you a room you know, you can just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello, sorry you feel that way, but for security purposes the name on the ID and the name printed on the credit card MUST match. I understand you felt that was unnecessary but we receive numerous chargebacks/disputes becuase of this very reason. Also, when we advised you of that you threw your ID at the front desk agent, we will not tolerate that. Once again I am sorry we could not accomodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

For the benefit of any British or European travellers reading this, the Howard Johnson chain of hotels and inns range from limited-service motels to full-service hotels. This property in Lafayette falls under the category of limited service motel with rooms that have their own front door to the outside world.

Check-in was very quick and efficient. Our room was roomier than I expected and was nice and clean. It was quite noisy when people walked by our door and the walls were a bit thin so we could hear our next door neighbours when they first entered their room and started talking but fortunately they were considerate and kept the noise down after a couple of minutes.

The air conditioning unit was located under the window and was quite noisy when it came on. It also blew the curtain outward when it was running. I fixed this problem by using a couple of magazines to hold the curtain down. Our bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small and compact but very clean and the shower provided nice hot water very quickly. The continental breakfast was extremely disappointing with a very limited choice of things to choose from.

Overall verdict? Not bad at all. This is a safe, quiet haven that's perfect as an overnight stop when travelling from A to B. It's also good value for money if you're travelling on a budget. I have to admit though, I prefer to stay in a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lafayette Inn
Best Western Lafayette Inn
#15 of 50 in Lafayette
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lafayette North
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Lafayette
Motel 6 Lafayette
#30 of 50 in Lafayette
66 reviews
4.5 mi away
Days Inn Lafayette Near Lafayette Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lafayette

Address: 2215 NW Evangeline Trwy, Lafayette, LA 70501-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range: $53 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed wireless Internet, brand standard complimentary breakfast, newly constructed outdoor pool, AAA approved, microwave in all rooms, hairdryers in every room, free weekday newspaper in all rooms, clock and coffee maker in every room, refrigerator in all rooms, iron and board in every room, extended cable TV package, suites available, free local calls, guest laundromat on site, over-sized rooms available, wake-up service, taxi and public transportation available, electric locks and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing