We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!”
Review of Blue Dog Cafe

Blue Dog Cafe
Ranked #4 of 566 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is not only a fun place with the famous Blue Dog paintings all over, but the food is award winning. You must try the seafood dumplings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rmgordonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    326
    105
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Louisiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Blue Dog...YES!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wife and I were seated @ 5:30. Plenty of tables available, at this time. We started by sharing the Seafood Wonton app. Very good choice for us. She had a Santillo Caesar salad with grilled shrimp and a crab cake on top. All done very well, and too much for her to finish. I had Whiskey Bay Flounder, a crabmeat stuffed flounder filet, topped with crawfish etouffe', smothered potatoes, mixed vegetables, done just enough, and a side salad with house made Balsamic vinaigrette with a tangy back burn, maybe just a little horseradish, not sure, but it was super! After this meal, when we return, It will be hard to order any of the other special dishes, which made our choice so difficult, this time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theblackcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
“Average anywhere else”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This place might deserve an average review if it were located anywhere but Lafayette...but with all the great eateries in town, it isn't even worth a try.

Tapping into the ridiculous Blue Dog popularity might be enough for the tourists, but the locals know better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We found this restaurant to be too crowded and noisy. My chair got bumped by people numerous times, which is annoying when you have a fork to your mouth. Our waiter was indifferent to the point of rudeness and had no suggestions about the menu. The food was ok but not good enough to overcome the other shortcomings.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank younghighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitimat, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Blue Dog..is a dog.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was NOT what it could or should have been. And I have to be up front..I don't like buffet's anyway, but the lure of 'LIVE' Cajun Music with a Sunday Cajun brunch...who could resist. Meh...the food was mediocre at best. There were some 'Cajun' dishes, to be sure..but not good ones..not prepared with the love and care I have come to expect in a Cajun restaurant. This was...a 'buffet'. Tired, dried desserts and sloppy eggs benny. Yes, there was live music...but in another room...and turned down low...so, no, couldn't hear nor see them.

For the $22 per plate, I would not recommend this to a visitor looking for real Cajun grub. For city folk that doan no no bettah...sure, fly at'r.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Cafe also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Blue Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing