We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gumbo YaYa!”
Review of Blue Dog Cafe

Blue Dog Cafe
Ranked #4 of 567 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
St. Charles
Level Contributor
217 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Gumbo YaYa!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We loved the seafood gumbo and grilled Delcambre shrimp salad. The house dressing was Balsamic Cane Vinaigrette and very good. Service was excellent. Would love to try it again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wekick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    332
    106
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had dinner at the Blue Dog while visiting Lafayette, LA. The service was excellent. We had the crab cakes, shrimp and corn chowder, and shrimp with linguine and sauteed spinach. Everything was tasty, hot, and well presented. We happen to hit Happy Hour, so our drinks were half off too.

The atmosphere was comfortable, clean, and casual. I didn't have trouble recalling their name, as paintings of blue dogs are on every wall! Good marketing strategy. It worked on me!

When we return to the area, we will definitely have another dinner at the Blue Dog.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mak5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
188 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my second time to the Blue Dog. It was as good if not better than the first. Seems there was more selections to choose from, I did mention this was a Sunday and they only have a buffett, the food was well prepared and presented. Everything has a little Cajun to it. This time they offered a glass of champaign with the meal. Try it you won't be disappointed, except for the wait time seems everyone want's to eat there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan6801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanute, Kansas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, fun place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited Blue Dog Cafe just because we were driving by and it looked fun. The food was great; the server was pleasant. We received suggestions when we asked, and our server was knowledgeable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRue1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
187 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Healthy crab salad”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although most cajn food is very unhealthy the crab sald in a tortilla bowl was excellent. There were two of us, women. Even though the restaruant was almost empty the hostess tried to seat us in a corner of the bar filled with happy hour partiers. We turned her around quickly so we could talk and relax after a long day working while out of town on a business trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheribree2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Cafe also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Blue Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing