We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a boutique Hotel!”
Review of Juliet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juliet Hotel
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Whilst the location of this hotel is ideal if every you find yourself in Lafayette, it cannot claim to be a boutique hotel. After all, it provides absolutely no services whatsoever. No bell hop; no breakfast; no laundry; no minibar. We found our room to be large and comfortable if somewhat dark. The air conditioning unit was extremely noisy. Overall, it was somewhat below average, and I think is extremely misleading to call itself a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJulietHotel, Assistant General Manager at Juliet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

I would first like to thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your insight. We are currently taking the necessary steps to better serve our guests' needs. We will soon be offering food options in the rooms as well as room service. While we do not have the space available to provide on-site laundry services, we would be more than happy to manage your dry cleaning needs while at the Juliet. With your insight in mind, we will also be servicing our air conditioning units to lesser their noice output as best we can. I hope with this in mind, that you might consider The Juliet Hotel in your future travels.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheJulietHotel, Assistant General Manager at Juliet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were told that this was a boutique hotel.The rooms were of an era but seemed a bit mixed up

The location and parking was fine but please if you are going to have someone check you in and they are the only person in the hotel ..make sure they have some idea about the area,restaurants and local attractions.The reception staff was friendly enough but was from out of town and new nothing....never we wont stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJulietHotel, Assistant general Manager at Juliet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. Your insights have been very helpful as we are moving forward in our staff education program. I can assure guests in the future, that our staff is knowledgable of local amenities and events in the area. Lafayette has so much to offer, so we here at The Juliet will do everything we can to assure our guests a fun-filled and comfortable stay. I hope that you might consider us in your future travels.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The rooms in Lafayette's best (and only) downtown hotel are beautifully furnished, with comfortable beds, a great desk chair, and a bathtub big enough for three.But, on the whole, I can't say my family totally enjoyed our stay or felt it was worth the money. When we arrived, there were 3 hangers in the closet. We asked for more they brought 3 more flimsy metal ones. We also had to request a hair dryer. Most annoying, though, was that our room wasn't cleaned when we were away from about 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. When we told the desk clerk, he claimed their policy was clean only rooms where guests had hung a "Please Service" sign on the door, a policy I'd never before encountered in a hotel and that this hotel had not announced by word or signage. All these things sound rather petty, and while they may be forgiven in a budget hotel, I expect more when I'm paying $136/night (plus tax) for a room.

Room Tip: All rooms are second floor, and the ones off Jefferson Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Walked in off the street to see a room. We were in downtown waiting to eat a late lunch at the French press Resturant three blocks way. The desk person Andrew showed us the room and my husband and our friends decided to stay there. I asked Andrew if he would upgrade our room which he gladly did. Our room was lovely and one of their suites. Our friends were right across the hall in an equally nice suite. Andrew was so helpful with Resturant recommendations and a place for dancing to zydeco music. We left
Lafayette planning our next trip! Sure the Juliet is a bit tired but such a faded elegance from the past!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The small and the big: first, the desk clerk checked me into a room that had not been cleaned and had dirty linen in piles all over the room. Redirected to a cleaned room, I found it spacious and pretty quiet with a window on to Jefferson Street (or Rue de Jefferson, as the Acadian's like to say) but getting dingier by the day. The carpet needed replacing. Not until the second day when they had not cleaned the room at all the first day, did I understand why it was so important to clean the room. It smelled like a wet dog had been sleeping on it for a very long time. Whatever room spray hotel housekeepers used had effectively covered that smell for 12 hours. Then the desk clerk referred me down the street to a breakfast restaurant that was not open at all. Oh, after the room had not been cleaned after the first night and I asked about that, the desk clerk replied, "Oh, I'll remind them to do it tomorrow." Not, Holy Mackerel! That should not happen. Sorry. I'll get someone up there right away or we can change your room." At any rate, its convenient and boutique and you want it to be lovely - but its not.

Room Tip: Consider a room on the back side of the hotel away from the central open area on the second floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unless you don't mind staying on a very busy road this is probably the best place to stay in Lafayette. On the plus side the rooms are huge, and it gets all the basics right, comfy bed, good shower, coffee in room etc. The downside is there is no bar, restaurant or coffee shop. There is however a great diner a few blocks away and a few bars in walking distance. Not sure they can justify their room rate or maybe the rate was higher because of the mardi gras parades.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AmeliaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Vermilion River Suites Hotel
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juliet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliet Hotel

Address: 800 Jefferson St, Lafayette, LA 70501-6912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Hotel Class:3 star — Juliet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juliet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliet Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing