We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Abita Springs, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most enjoyable”
Reviewed May 1, 2010

we stayed one night during the festival de louisiane last week. there weren't any rooms available, but a young lady at the front desk( her name was shannon), went out of her way and found us a room. pear tree is lucky to have people like shannon. we enjoyed our stay there immensely!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    58
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
57
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Hubby and I stayed here a couple nights at the end of February and really loved it. It made a great base for us while prowling about Lafayette and Breaux Bridge for a few days. The hotel was spotless - someone was always cleaning tables, mopping floors, etc. Our room was spic-and-span clean, the bed very comfortable, and the shower nice. Unlike other reviewers, we did not notice any noise, and in fact were surprised that we barely heard the I-10 traffic at all. We did notice that the room's door had a sizeable gap underneath it, which could cause a lot of noise if the hotel is busy, which it was not during our visit. It was actually pleasantly quiet throughout our stay.

The evening snacks served with wine and beer was a really nice touch. A handful of guests gathered around the large tv in the evenings and chatted while snacking and it was nice to catch up on the news and make small talk with some of the other guests.

The free breakfast was delicious - scrambled eggs, sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, a waffle maker that turned out some really delicious waffles, and cold cereal, bagels, and fruit. OJ and coffee was fresh and tasty. The breakfast room was nice and clean and full of sunlight.

The front desk clerk whose name escapes me now unfortunately was very friendly and made some great recommendations for dinner while there. She recommended Donn's and it was fabulous!

The elevator temporarily stopped working the first day that we were there and they were kind enough to go to every occupied room and slip a typed notice underneath the door to let guests know that they were working on it and would have it repaired as soon as possible and to call the front desk if anyone needed help with luggage, etc. The elevator was repaired within a couple hours.

We had just spent a few days in New Orleans before coming here and had spent close to $200 a night for our room at the Chateau Bourbon in the French Quarter there. We were not very happy with our experience there (see my review for more info) and so it was a great pleasure to land at the Pear Tree Inn and have such a great experience for a mere fraction of the cost. Better room, better service, nicer staff, just plain better all around.

If you have time while in Lafayette, treat yourself to a tour of the Atachafalaya Basin with Atchafalaya Experience. it's well-worth the money and was the highlight of our entire six-night trip through Louisiana. The owners Coerte and Kim Voorhies are experts in their field and are really delightful to sit and chat with. We'd both driven over the Basin many times over the years without ever seeing what was below the I-10 bridge and it was wonderful to finally explore the area by boat with such enthusiastic hosts.

The people of Lafayette and the surrounding areas are delightful and friendly. They are high-spirited, polite, and just plain fun to talk to, be it in a grocery store or in a restaurant. We can't wait to return for another visit and will definitely stay at the Pear Tree Inn again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WickedWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at the Pear Tree Inn during Festivals Acadiens. While there are hotels nearer the festival, this location is fine. It's easy to access good restaurants from here........... Prejeans, Mulattes etc. The turn from University Ave. onto the hotel's street is a bit tricky; perhaps a traffic light would help.
The complimentary breakfast and the happy hour are nice freebies, particularly the waffles at breakfast. And it's nice to have easy access to the computer in the lobby.
The rooms were clean, well stocked, and comfortable. The beds and pillows were exceptional.
The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Ophelia and Jackie.
It's not fancy, but all in all, the Pear Tree Inn is a good value for the tourists' dollar.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PargaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Driving from Fort Worth, TX to New Orleans to join Carnival Fantasy Cruise we booked the Pear Tree Inn Lafayette, LA through Hotel.com. Hotel is conveniently located next to I-10 at the exit but far enough from the interstate to be quiet. We arrived about 2:30pm and was welcomed by a friendly smiling lady at the desk. Keys in hand and bags on baggage cart we went to the elevator and to our room on the 5th floor. The room faced the west and had a view of the Drury Hotel and pool next door. Room was large with a sitting chair with footstool, a office style desk for my laptop with an internet connection in place. The Office Center PC in the lobby was not working the night we were there but the internet in the rooms worked fine. Good size TV and a good size bath/shower and full mirror in the bath room. A/C was working great. .it was 98 outside.

We proceeded down to the pool and spent 3 hours sunning and swimming. Pool is average size and has a couple of covered tables at one end.

At 5:30pm they serve beer, wine and chips and nuts to the guest in the lobby. Nice touch. You get 3 glasses of your choice nibbles as you sit at tables. It nice if you give the server a tip. She smiles bigger.

There is a Cracker Barrel located next to the Pear Tree Inn if that would suit your fancy. We drove into Lafayette and ate and went by Sam's Club to pick up some needed things for the cruise. I was surprised to see that in LA Sam's Clubs sell full blown supplies of hard liquor.

After a restful nights sleep -the king size bed and pillows were most comfortable we went down for the complimentary continental breakfast. It was very good with many choices. Eggs, sausage, hash browns, biscuits, gravy, fruit, coffee, milk, cereals, waffle maker for waffle and more. You will not leave hungry.

I did notice around the elevators that the trash was always running over with bags, bottles, fast food containers and carpets in this area need sweeping more often.

All in all. . .on your way to or from New Orleans try the Pear Tree Inn. There rates are good. It was $79 for our nights stay.. Enjoy you stay and leave a review.

Texaspepper
Fort Worth, TX
Photos@ texaspepper.net

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texaspepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Our 4th of July trip was fine but as soon as we walked in it was very noticeable that the carpet needed a good vacuuming. The chairs and the tables in the lobby area were worn and chipped respectively. The carpet in the elevator had a rim of dust and trash all around the edge.

On a more positive note the rooms were clean and the bathroom was much bigger than expected. The breakfast area was clean and the food was great. The front desk staff was also great and very helpful.

The surrounding area is not the best but we felt safe in the hotel. There is a Cracker Barrel nearby that seems very busy. I think if we were to do it again we would stay at the regular Drury Inn and Suites next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texaspixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimChappell, eMarketing Specialist at Pear Tree Inn Lafayette, responded to this review, August 7, 2009
Thanks for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and breakfast during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear, though, about the cleanliness issues you encountered in the lobby. Your comments have been passed along to hotel management to follow up with both our housekeeping and maintenance departments. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2009

Saw the reviews from trip advisor.. and also had some coupons so tried it out. Great place.. really clean, lovely big rooms and big bathroom, good breakfast, free beer/wine at night (!!) with snacks - its true when they advertise that 'extras arent extra'...would be pleased to stay in this hotel again and again..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottnjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We were in Lafayette for a convention/rally, and opted to stay somewhere else other than the conferencing hotel. The Pear Tree worked out fine for us - we were well pleased with the room (clean, large enough, comfortable); and the staff we encountered were just as friendly and helpful as could be. The hot breakfast (free!) was really nice, and the evening cocktail (complementary beer or wine) was a very pleasant touch. We had a good WiFi connection (free). The neighborhood is not the greatest, and there's not much to do within walking distance (there is a Cracker Barrel next door), but we were staying there as a place to sleep, not as a resort! We don't really know how much more was actually provided by the Drury Inn (right next door), but the Pear Tree (also owned by Drury, kind of like the little brother) worked out just fine for us.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lafayette Inn
Best Western Lafayette Inn
#15 of 50 in Lafayette
319 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 50 in Lafayette
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn Lafayette

Property: Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Address: 126 Alcide Dominique Dr, Lafayette, LA 70506-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lafayette
#8 Family Hotel in Lafayette
#8 Business Hotel in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pear Tree Inn Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pear Tree Inn by Drury provides an outstanding balance of quality, amenities and value. Guests can enjoy a free hot breakfast daily, free evening beverages daily from 5:30-7 pm, free wireless Internet access in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free local calls and 60 minutes of free long distance calls. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pear Tree Inn Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Pear Tree Hotel Lafayette
Best Western Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing