We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory Maker”
Review of Borden's

Borden's
Ranked #2 of 17 Dessert in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Restaurant details
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Memory Maker”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Remember ice cream stores before the chains? This is the place you can't find anymore. Ice cream good, service good and the place is good. This place has been here forever and has been remodeled but the staff has kept that old time friendliness and service. Kinda makes the ice cream taste better.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sadly dissapointed numerous times.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We really wanted to love this place! We tried going at different parts of the day, different days to no avail. The service is absolutely horrible every time. Even through the drive thru. They are rude and very unfriendly. It ruins the whole experience. When we get our icecreamand root beer floats it's dripping and messy and it's like they don't even care about the presentation. It's really a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliB201283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still an old favorite”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I hadn't been to this place in years mostly because I don't live in the area any more. I remembered the Gold Brick Sundae and was going to make an effort to have one before I left.

The outside has a fresh coat of paint and some new seating out front on the sidewalk. They've added a drive-thru window in the back but it takes away from the inside experience you have from the counter help. The inside has only the booth seating the same where everything else is completly different. The menu is very much the same, great ice cream choices and the speciality items are still all there. Frappe and milk shakes as well as the sundae items.

It's more popular now than it was 10 years ago however, you'll have to understand it's strong draw for those who just want to sit and enjoy a tasty ice cream and then hang around to see who else shows up. It can get noisy with 3 booths of children and unapologetic parents.

I love going here!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

As a child, I used to love going to the Borden's Ice Cream Shoppe in Lake Charles, LA, and when it closed I was very sad. One day when driving around Lafayette a few years ago I discovered the Borden's here and was elated. It's the last one in the country and has recently been refurbished - very nice interior but keeps those old-fashioned elements. I always get the Chocolate Soda - I can't find one anywhere else - and it's just like I remember it from ages ago.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profesorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ice cream and coffee”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great ice cream shop and a nice coffee stop too. In a great location if you want to wait for the Mardi Gras parades go by.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ceresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borden's also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Borden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing