We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly disappointed”
Review of Borden's

Borden's
Ranked #2 of 17 Dessert in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $5
Restaurant details
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terribly disappointed”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were in town and looking for something for our sweet tooth. We asked our friendly hotel clerk where we could get some yummy dessert. He directed us to Borden's. I was excited since it looks like an old fashioned ice cream joint. However, my ice cream seemed to have spoiled. I was so surprised that it tasted freezer burned since it was coming from the Borden's brand! My hubby liked his but I was so disappointed in mine. We won't be going back there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn_D680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    26
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only one left in the country”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The place is a throw back to the 30-40's. You'll fill your sweet tooth and enjoy it to boot! Not for the serious dieters.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LSUTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Summer Stop”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Loved the Icecream, cool inside, good service, quality is top notch

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Popsie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
613 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Went here on a warm afternoon in February. The place was BUSY! We waited awhile in line to order. I wish that they had the prices on the signs on the wall, but eventually we got close enough to get to the menu. Anyway, I had a scoop with the Gold Brick dip on a cone. Seemed like a good idea but it was impossible to eat. It basically just dripped and dripped all over me, the table, etc. It tasted OK, but the ice cream and topping were both a little grainy. The service was OK but they were super busy. And it's hard to find somewhere to sit when they are so busy. Luckily most just eat and run, so tables turn over quickly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Another Lafayette Landmark”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Oh the memories. So glad they refurbished 1950's style. Must see if you were in Lafayette in the 50's or 60's.

Helpful?
Thank Ocean_Rover_Blue_Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borden's also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Borden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing