We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food!”

T-Coon's Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 567 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Cafeteria style choices are out of this world! Tasty, good portions, and there is ample seating throughout. The crawfish etoufee was the best. Green peas on the side rounded out the dish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    74
    21
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Went there for the Benyas that was recommended from the hotel. The place was jumping at breakfast. Good down home cooking. Would never know from the outside how good it was. The locals eat there and that makes a difference.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJones2361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
613 reviews
481 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Busy place for lunch, but lots of options”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place was recommended by our nearby hotel. We went here for lunch and you can tell it's a local favorite. The line was long, but grab a tray and follow along. I had a small plate with red beans and rice w/ coleslaw and bread. Everything was flavorful but also very spicy. Even the coleslaw. The table service was great. I heard they have great breakfasts, but we never got the chance to come back. Should have tried the beignets as I heard they are great here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plaidbagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Why yes, we DO have a place where you can get great beignets in Lafayette!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I'm a local, and ever since I discovered that they served beignets, T-Coon's has been one of my favorite breakfast spots. If you're visiting Cajun Country, go for the beignets or the crawfish omelette - so, so good! I love that they open really early (5:30!) and that there's always an urn of hot, strong coffee on every table. (We Louisianians love our coffee!) The service is always great, and I always end up running into people I know. Very cozy, great prices, yummy Cajun food. What's not to like?

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“good value, nice sized servings, and a pleasant experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is in somewhat of a strip shopping center, but don't let that deter you. And the name T-Coon's is a bit hokey, but don't let that deter you either. Inside, you will find a casual atmosphere with friendly, efficient service and good hearty food well prepared.

On a recent Saturday morning my wife and each ordered the "breakfast plate" including eggs, meat, and optional side dishes. The "ham" on the menu turns out to be a delicious 1/2" thick ham steak, complete with bone and marrow; the "breakfast sausage" is a nice-size homemade pork patty, remarkably lean and nicely spiced without being overpowering. The grits were smooth and delicious, as was the oatmeal. The eggs were nicely done, and it was nice that the warm biscuits were wrapped and kept warm in butcher paper. Oh, and there was no waiting and no begging for coffee refills - they leave an insulated caraffe on the table!

The large dining room was nearly filled that morning with local couples and families, as well as a girls' soccer team; the people of Lafayette know they have a good thing in T-Coon's and they enjoy going there.

All in all, T-Coon's is worth going out of your way for, for a casual breakfast. It is a good value, nice sized servings, and a pleasant experience. I look forward to my next breakfast here - as well as what appear to be some very good lunches.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StCharlesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Coon's Restaurant also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to T-Coon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing