We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Oyster!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DON'S Seafood

DON'S Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
DON'S Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 557 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DON'S SEAFOOD More Than Eighty Years of Exceptional Seafood South Louisiana locals and visitors have been drawn to DON'S authentic Cajun cuisine for more than 80 years. Menu selections including traditional Landry family recipes, and more recent original creations like Zydeco Shrimp, are well worth repeat visits. Many stop in daily for oysters on the half shell or boiled crawfish in season. DON'S bartenders serve Signature Old Fashioned cocktails alongside the newest specialty drinks, many made with Louisiana products. DON'S SEAFOOD began in 1934, when Don Landry opened his first restaurant and bar in downtown Lafayette with $400 borrowed from his uncle. Prohibition had just been lifted and at only 24 years old, he envisioned serving drinks and offering a simple menu featuring fresh local seafood. Four generations later, the Landry family has expanded that humble beginning into what would eventually become the DON'S SEAFOOD of today. Continuing the tradition, the Landry family still owns and operates each location. An extensive menu of original South Louisiana Cajun family recipes, the freshest Gulf seafood and sizzling steaks is offered. Each location boasts a unique Acadiana-inspired décor, all have a full-service bar and grill, perfect for casual diners or sports enthusiasts. Every DON'S SEAFOOD grill features an open charbroiler where diners can watch exclusive dishes being prepared like DON'S Original Jacked Up Oysters loaded with bacon, jalapenos and pepper jack cheese. Whether you're just passing through South Louisiana or live right around the corner, you'll find a DON'S SEAFOOD location near you in Lafayette, Baton Rouge, Denham Springs, Gonzales, Hammond, Covington and Metairie.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Oyster!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A busy place with good food..
Come early to find parking. Grilled oysters are great!! New Orleans style. Be prepared to wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shane500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    83
    52
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
634 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Like riding an Epicurean rollercoaster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been visiting Don’s Hut for 20 years or so and if there is a restaurant in Lafayette that rides a rollercoaster this is it. Without a doubt this is the best restaurant in Lafayette, but on the other hand, this is without a doubt one of the worst restaurants in Lafayette. One of the previous reviews made the statement that they are living off reputation. I totally agree.

My biggest fear for Don’s is that over the years they have put the cart before the horse, and that is perhaps the case with the current version of Don’s. While the food ranges from outstanding to cold and poor, and the service ranges from impeccable to poor, Don’s has always been adding to the ambiance of their restaurant. It was an opportunity to eat in the newly appointed bar side of Don’s Hut that brought us in today.

The interior of the bar is beautifully decorated with an industrial/New Orleans feel. The interior of the bar portion of Don’s is one of my favorite places to eat anywhere in America. The ceilings are done with beautiful sculpted metal tiles. The moldings are magnificent, and the recaptured woods create an ambiance that feels warm and cozy, yet sophisticated. It’s a shame that the food served is nowhere near the quality of the décor.

We had diet cokes (no alcohol) and no appetizers and our bill for two was $45 ($53 with tip). The Shrimp dinner was well below when you expect in the Acadiana Region. The other entrée on our ticket was Crabmeat au gratin which was very tasty, but not as good as what Don’s Hut served in the past. Overall this was a very average meal, far below what one expects to get when visiting a dining institution in Lafayette that has a reputation of excellence.

Our server today was Mark. He did a fine job. You can tell that Mark has been in the food service industry for a long time. He took care of his area without coming to often, but he made certain we had what we needed. The only thing about service that was not acceptable was the kitchen’s fault in that the food came out at different times for the people at our table. Four people sat while awaiting the arrival of the last two entrees.

Will we return? Yes, Don’s is one of those places that everyone in Lafayette visits a few times a year. We eat out 3-5 times a week. If the food was the quality of the décor we would eat here a few times a month. If you have guests coming in from out of town and you bring them to Don’s Hut you might have a five star experience, but you might also have your guests asking why you would bring them to a poor restaurant? Is it worth the risk? Not for my guests!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erath, Louisiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of my favorites -slower pace-good table fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Lafayette is blessed with many fine dining spots'. Some are classic cajun-and some are slower pace. Dons seafood hut is one of the slower pace spots. . It is Nice-clean-friendly and recently updated bar area that adds some upscale flair to the place. This is NOT a "fast food restaurant". the meals are not precooked and do not come out quick. Plan on 30 minutes from order to table. I like this as it gives you time to visit with friends If you like seafood-you can't go wrong here. You have the normal "platters" which i do not recommend. These are aimed at the tourist. Go for the -the one of a kind meals. My favorite-----oysters and shrimp- bacon wrapped- and grilled. Another good dish ---catfish acadian-grilled catfish with crawfish or shrimp over the top. Fire roasted oysters on half shell are above avg as well. Service is good overall--- but the best one in the place-in my opinion is Candice--ask for her--she has the ability to just LOOK at the table and catch your eye to see if you need anything--rather than hovering over you every ten seconds.
If you want cajun music played loud-dance floor , faster pace, faster food and different but just as good table fare--hit the spots closer to I-10 like Prejeans. They are good in their own right--but are a much different dining experience than Don's

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pricey - not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Why is it that restaurants closest to the coast charge the most for their food? This was true for Don's. It would have been okay if the food was excellent, but it was not. My husband and I ordered the shrimp feast which we split. The feast was really too much for one person so it was good that we split it. I have never been to a seafood restaurant where the only side you get is rice. No salad to start off - just crackers on the table to munch on while we waited for our food. My husband ordered the fried mushrooms which were excellent. The prices were costly. The feast cost us $23.00 and was not worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
230 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average...at best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visiting in Lafayette for the day and decided to go for some true Louisiana seafood. Sorry to say we picked Don's as our choice. The food was average, at best. Reminded me of a Red Lobster! Nothing special or outstanding with the fare, the service or the value. Guess we just made a poor choice and will know better next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DON'S Seafood also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to DON'S Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing