We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!!!!”

Cafe' Vermilionville
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe' Vermilionville is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very impressed!!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband had been years ago and we were in town for his business again, he wanted me to try it. We made a reservation and were NOT disappointed. The food was fantastic. Service (Barry) the best. Atmosphere was super. Drinks were excellent. The bar is very cozy.
Yes there were people dressed in jeans and relaxed but so what. They enjoyed their food too. I would highly recommend this place!!!! A fun place for a super evening. We were there for 3 1/2 hours!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nici83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“where are the standards?”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Call me a snob, but if I get dressed up and go to a fancy restaurant then end up paying $138. for dinner for two; is it really too much to expect that there will be a dress code? A family of 5 was seated wearing shorts and teeshirts at 8:45pm; the adult male even had a visor that he never took off. I know that I wasn't the only guest wondering why a dress code wasn't enforced. Is the staff trained to deal with these situations? The food was adequate, the service better than the last time we went last spring. But when we want a fine dining experience, we will go to Ruth Chris or Bonefish next time. Cafe Vermilionville just isn't what it was - and we won't be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynmoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

When I first walked into the house it has an old mildew smell. The "Banquet" room was just old and dirty looking. Overall a complete disappointment for ALL 10 of us. I was up all night sick! I will NEVER go back. So sad because this used to be such an awesome restaurant that has just gone downhill!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Eat Lafayette! What a bargain!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were fortunate to stop by during the Eat Lafayette promotion and had an outstanding meal. For $25, we had a four course meal and these weren't sample sizes. The crab and corn chowder was delicious and not one single piece of shell was found. A nice house salad followed. But the rainbow trout was outstanding. Perfectly seasoned and pan sauteed, then sauced with tomatoes, black and green olives, and capers. And to push it over, flash fried zucchini sticks for a delicious crunch. I'm a fish lover and this is one of the best I've ever had. You should have it on your menu every day. The white chocolate breading pudding was perfection. It was sweet and light, not at all overly dense like some bread puddings are. And I have to mention the watermelon mojito. Just so enjoyable. A great meal in a great food town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingfifties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eat Lafayette special”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Through September 2, 2013 you can order from a special menu-Eat Lafayette. It is for local restaurants. I had a 4 course meal for $25. Included a creamy, corn/seafood bisque, arugula salad with Parmesan, main course of scallops that were perfectly cooked and topped with macadamia nuts, key lime pie for dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Vermilionville also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Cafe' Vermilionville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing