We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist In Our Own Town!”
Review of Cajun Food Tours

Cajun Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 3 Food & Drink in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best way to experience the flavor of Louisiana! Laissez les bon temps rouler on our cozy customized tour bus. Visitors will learn the history, love the culture and, best of all, stop to taste several of the infamous Cajun delights that make our city so unique. Enjoy samplings of some of the best Cajun food while our guides bring Acadiana’s culture to life. Our daily tours make a minimum of 6 different tasting stops!Lafayette was recently voted the Tastiest Town in the South by Southern Living Magazine, and Cajun Food Tours wants you to find out why!We pick up from many area hotels. Enjoy fun, friendly Cajun hospitality in a cozy setting.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tourist In Our Own Town!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Six friends from the local area booked a Cajun Food Tour as a going-away party for one of the friends who is moving out of state. We are all folks who have lived in the Lafayette area anywhere from 7 years to all our lives. This was a fabulous time for all of us! Marie drove us around in the 'party bus', gave a running commentary of the history of the area, and even told some funny 'Boudreaux-Thibodeaux' jokes! The food extravaganza lasted 4 hours and we went to 7 food places and one non-food place (to view the magnificent 500-year-old oak tree on the grounds of the Cathedral of St. John). We all learned some things we didn't know and made some new friends from Winnetka, IL and southern Missouri. It was SO worth the $49 per person and was almost like a mini-vacation at home...very fun being a tourist in our own town! If you are coming to Lafayette from out of town, it is definitely worth a half-day of your time to do either the morning or the afternoon food tour and get to sample some of the best food that the Best Food City has to offer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie D, Owner at Cajun Food Tours, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Ellen! You ladies were such a pleasure. Thank you so much for the kind review! I know it's a bit of a chore to do reviews; please know how very much i do appreciate the time you took to do it. :) Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Taste of Lafayette Louisiana”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Cajun Food Tours was quite a treat! Not only did we sample some of the finest South Louisiana specialities; King Cake, cracklins, smoked meats, gumbo, étouffée, boudin ...our guide shared the local history of the beautiful city of Lafayette and the surrounding area. Looking forward to experiencing this again!

Helpful?
Thank Donna414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fanastic Canjun food/culture tour!!!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I plus other veterans were in Lafayette for a Navy reunion. We have traveled
the world this has to be at the top of our list of tours! Ten of us plus two couples , one from Norway, and the other from England. We sampled different Cajun foods at seven different shops/restaurants. All were different and delicious. Our guide and
owner Marie gave the cultural and food history of Acadiana plus stops of historic
places in Lafayette. It was great fun, the highlight of our trip. Don't miss it!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie D, Owner at Cajun Food Tours, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Shirley! I miss y'all already! Thank you so much for the kind review. :) That day was probably my favorite so far! I posted some great pics of the gang on my Facebook page. Hope you get a chance to see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour if you love food and the Cajun culture . Truly passionate about Cajun culture”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

A must for both locals and out of town visitors. Well worth the fee for the tour. The food is excellent and the shop amp resteraunts owners are very friendly. Marie , the tour guide , has good knowledge of the area and makes the tour fun

Helpful?
1 Thank chetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cajun food tour!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I went on the Cajun Food Tours on September 15. It was a memorable experience!!! We had great cajun food, learned many interesting facts about Acadiana, and met some very nice people from Oregon, Michigan, Texas, and some locals. Marie, the tour guide and owner, was awesome...very knowledgeable about our area with a great sense of humor. It is so obvious that she is passionate about this tour!! I highly recommend it to everyone-those from out of town, as well as locals!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie D, Owner at Cajun Food Tours, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind review, Linda! I'm so glad y'all had fun on the tour. If all of my guests enjoy it half as much as I do, we should do well. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Food Tours also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Cajun Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing