We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I won't stay here again”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We loved the Drury in San Antonio so when we needed a room in Lafayette, LA we wanted to stay there. I should have been suspicious when I had to call three times and spend way too long listening to advertisements before being able to make a reservation. When we received our room keys were were also handed a typed notice that there were a lot of break ins in the area and that we should secure all belongings in the car. Yes, that is common sense but I don't usually stay in places that come with printed warnings and a policeman in uniform joining us for breakfast. Most of the staff was very nice, the included "kickback hour" and breakfast were also fine. Unfortunately, our room was near the elevator and overlooking the pool. There were people whooping it up at the pool past 11PM and the elevator bell rang constantly. When I mentioned to the front desk that it might be a good idea to close the pool a little earlier the clerk told me "not when there is a large group like that". I pointed out that a lot of people check into a hotel for rest. It seems that if you are a large, rowdy party you can call the shots and if you are a weary road warrior you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank elliesmomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
We sincerely apologize you had a bad experience with our hotel. Our staff pride itself on being friendly and welcoming and offering +1 service. We do our best to uphold Drury standards and to remain consistent with all other Hotels in the Drury family. I apologize for the elevator beeping throughout the night disturbing your good night's sleep. Our pool curfew is strictly enforced, even when there is a large group in house. As a courtesy we like to remind our guest to remove their valuables from the cars, and we welcome our men in uniform to join us for breakfast. Thank you for your comments - they help us in our continuous efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    59
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
102
63
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were to stay three nights at this hotel, but ended up staying one. If we had inspected the suite prior to check-in, we would have left immediately.
1. The first suite we were assigned was supposed to be non-smoking, but when we entered the room, the smell of smoke was overwhelming. We were moved to a second suite that smelled better, but not by much.
2. A notice from the Lafayette Police Dept. was posted at the front desk to warn visitors not to leave anything in their cars as many vehicles had been vandalized. We were also handed a second notice in our registration papers.
3. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as the mattress was old, lumpy and should have been discarded long ago.
4. The carpet, furniture and remaining decor in the suite was outdated and not what one would expect when checking into a suite.
5. Both televisions were small and old - possibly 1998 or older.
6. The stench of burnt grease in the hall made its way into our room.
7. The photo of the hotel presented on the internet looked nothing like the hotel we checked into.
This suite was not even close to being worth $129.00 per night. Bottom line, do not stay at this hotel if you want to relax and enjoy the room. The positive reviews were very misleading and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG201122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We sincerely apologize you had a bad experience with our hotel. Our staff pride itself on being friendly and welcoming and offering +1 service. We do our best to uphold Drury standards and to remain consistent with all other Hotels in the Drury family. Thank you for your comments - they help us in our continuous efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here a couple of years ago. On my second trip I stayed at a pricier hotel but came back to the Drury Inn because the people were friendlier and the accommodations were on par with the pricier option.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

great place for a family of four[2 kids 7 and 15] to start a US adventure.
Very economical, esp. when you consider spacious 2 room suites, included "kick down"[great way to cater for kids[allowing adults to venture out later even if just to very good country store restaurant next door] and breakfast[the highlight of which was clearly the cook yourself waffles]
Staff really welcoming-and a special nod to Miss Theresa-who really made the stay a bit special.
Only very minor quibbles-the room frig was not very cold and the restaurant orange juice-which was variably dilute or treacly sweet
overall very happy[and would also recommend Lafayette as a place in general and specifically for timid drivers who usually drive on the left side of the road to get their trainer wheels!]

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straddiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from New Orleans up to Shreveport. I was very impressed with the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. I certainly did not find any part of the hotel dirty or feel that the furniture was outdated. In fact our room - a suite - was very clean and spacious. I would have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The hotel itself is nice, free meals in the evening. That's always nice. I was disappointed with the quality of the room however. Very basic amenities with a little outdated furniture.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I have stayed in other Drury hotels. I like their pet policy and generous amenities (happy hour, bfast, etc.). But, this one is not on par with the others. Dirty, staff not present to check people in, lumpy beds, VERY outdated and funky furniture and bedding. I felt very mislead by the other reviews here. Recommend you pass this by.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank errthgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
We sincerely apologize you had a bad experience with our hotel. Our staff pride itself on being friendly and welcoming and offering +1 service. We do our best to uphold Drury standards and to remain consistent with all other Hotels in the Drury family. Thank you for your comments - they help us in our continuous efforts to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
0.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
#14 of 50 in Lafayette
152 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 50 in Lafayette
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette
Address: 120 Alcide Dominique Dr, Lafayette, LA 70506-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lafayette
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lafayette
#11 Business Hotel in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All hotel guests at Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette enjoy free extras every day: free hot breakfast, free 5:30 Kickback(R) with hot food and cold beverages, free wireless internet, free parking - and much more! Conveniently located off I-10, it's a short drive to the University of Louisiana Lafayette and area attractions like Alexandre Mouton House Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Drury Inn And Suites Lafayette
Drury Inn Lafayette
Drury Lafayette
Lafayette Drury Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing