We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant not open during posted hours, then rude about it!”

Don's Seafood and Steakhouse
Ranked #81 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
san antonio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant not open during posted hours, then rude about it!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were very dissappointed when researched restaurants in Lafayette, LA. We always want to try local restaurants when we travel and work hard to verifiy the information before we visit. We dressed up,added the restaurant to our navigation and set up to go to the downtown Don's Seafood for dinner. There website posted a closing time of 9 pm so we rushed to get there and arrived at 8:20 thinking this would be great and when we arrived were glad to see the lite up billboard outside posted 9:30. We parked in the crowded parking lot and went to the door and it was locked. I noticed the exit door was ajar so I opened it told the hostess that something was wrong with the door, I couldn't get it open. She said they were closed. I said the billboard posted 9:30 closing. She said the door had a 9 pm closing. Regardless it was 8:20. She said we closed early because it was slow. We own 27 businesses throughout the US and would never close our store because it was slow when we have advertised business hours. IF YOU DECIDE TO TRY IT. CALL FIRST BECAUSE THEY ARE VERY UNDEPENDABLE. THEN BECAUSE IT WAS GETTING TOO LATE AFTER DRIVING DOWNTOWN EVERYTHING ELSE WAS CLOSED. I tried to contact the management on the Don's website, but I guess they don't care about customer feedback because there was no place to give feedback. Luckily after driving for another 45 minutes we found a Chili's and the food and service was great! They lost a future customer as we travel through LA to our Florida condo a few times a year and always like to have a great dinner as a treat to wind down after driving all day!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnatimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    35
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Classic seafood dishes in a comfortable setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is an old favorite in downtown Lafayette. The wait staff is very friendly and the food is familiar and well prepared. The fried garlic mushrooms are delicious. Stop in the bar for a cocktail with some quirky, friendly locals before dinner. The Old Fashioned here is legendary.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank campmarengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not much has changed in 45 years.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We wanted to go to the Original Don's Seafood & Steakhouse in downtown Lafayette as 2 of our party of four remembered eating there in 1963 on a High School band trip and having a great time. The food was not as good as we remember although time sometimes plays tricks on one's taste buds. Good, but not excellent. The oysters were HUGE- too big actually. The fried oysters could have used a healthy dose of Tony Chachere's in the flour & corn meal.

We had better food and more of it elsewhere. Don's was among the pricier restaurants where we dined on our trip to Acadiana.

We were pleasantly surprised that the place seemed unchanged inside. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWmichelle
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A welcome stop on the road”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

After reading some of the more recent reviews, I was hesitant to go here. But we went anyway and I'm glad we did. We were driving home from Spring Break and wanted real food, not fast food. We literally stumbled across this restaurant, and I'm glad we did. The crawfish gumbo was tasty, and seasoned just right. Not spicy hot. Someone on here recommended the mushroom appetizer, and they were right. It was tasty. The kid's meal of chicken tenders was good, but my daughter thought her kid's catfish was too spicy. The staff looked flustered and busy, but did the best they could do. We had to cancel our dessert order because we needed to hit the road. All in all, it was a welcome stop. And yes, the food did seem a little pricey. An old timer leaving the restaurant recommended the eggplant, but no one in our party wanted to try it, but it looked interesting. Her friend said the shrimp salad is good, and we saw someone get that and there was plenty of food on that plate. Oh, my mom had the oyster's on the half shell and enjoyed that as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Legend Gone Downhill”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The whole Don's thing is as old as lafayette. Once known for great food and great service, my experience over the past year has been OK food and really arrogant and unpleasant wait staff. Why go here, when you can go to Don' Seafood Hut on Johnstone and get better food and nicer staff?

Helpful?
Thank Ocean_Rover_Blue_Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Don's Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing