We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Disappointed in Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Disappointed in Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel seems pretty new and in good condition. It was hard to see past the service shortfalls though. I arrived after 3pm, hotel states checkin is at 2pm. They had to confirm if my room was clean and ready for me. They said it was. I went to the room and they were just starting to clean. I then returned to the front desk and asked them to let me know when the room was ready. After approx 20 minutes I went back to the desk to inquire. Amazingly when I told them I was going to move to another hotel, another king room became available, another 5 minutes and I had a key.

The next part really put me off, there were too women at the desk, the original who helped me who was new but trying hard and another more experienced person. The more experienced apologized and then said the other lady was new, implying that was the issue, don't blame the other person for the cleaning staff not having the room ready and giving the front desk bad info. That seems like trying to make a really lame excuse.

When I returned the the hotel the next day after work, approx 4pm. My room had not yet been serviced for the day. I gave up and put the do not disturb on the door. Seems like they are really slow at cleaning the rooms for guests.

This is a really nice hotel in a good location, but the staff is not yet up to the challenge. Hopefully there is improvement, but I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnelson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFGros, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so sorry that you didn't have a positive experience with our staff members during your stay. I have shared your experience with my team in hopes that they learn from your comments. We strive to offer our guests exceptional service and we didn't deliver that service to you. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to make things right with you and offer you a great stay during your next visit to the Lafayette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    57
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
66
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed overnight while in town for a ball tournament. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean, the hotel was like new. There is a restaurant in the parking lot, which is great! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFGros, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I hope that your entire team had the same experience during your tournament. We enjoy hosting groups that are compete at fine athletic parks that we have to offer in the Lafayette area. I hope that you will choose Comfort Suites Oil Center next time you are playing ball or just visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

While staying a few days in Lafayette with work. My Suburban fuel pump went out. The front desk suggested Dave's Car Care down the street. Dave's was able to get my in out with in a few hours, so I could continue working. The hotel staff was very helpful and understanding to let me stay in my room after check out time. I will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvmccool58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFGros, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so glad we could help you out with your car trouble. Dave's has been great to our business and our guests! I hope you made it home safe and sound and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Lafayette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures-sur-Yvette, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

While somewhat hard to find (GPS could not find the street adress) the hotel is great. We were on one of our yearly roads trips and are picky about hotels. This one was perfect, we like the location close to restaurants, the really nce humengous rooms (although why such a small bathroom when the room is so big?) with beautiful contemporary decoration. The staff was nice, super friendly and really efficient, with adivices on the area as we needed them and non of the non personal attitude you can find in this kind of hotels.
We loved our stay in Lafayette and it was also thanks to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agamorinfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFGros, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our property during your stay in Lafayette. I know you were a long way from home and we hope that we made you feel like part of our family with our friendly staff. Safe travels...we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was somewhat hard to see from the road, so we missed it the first time through. When we found it we liked it exterior. Entering the lobby everything appeared well kept and clean. The pool was nice. The breakfast room was large and clean. The breakfast service was good. But the next morning we discovered what looked like dried blood on the toilet and let the front desk know about the problem. they said they would take care of it, but they seemed to not care. They could of at least cleaned the stain even if they didn't think it was blood! Everyone else thinks blood is a biohazard , but obviously this hotels management hasn't gotten the message. If we had the time we would have changed hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am very sorry you had a problem during your recent stay at our award winning property. Once i was notified of the problem i imediately went to check on the situation and found that the discolration you saw was in fact not blood at all but just our pink colored cleaning solution mixing with some rust that was on the hinge bolt of the lid. I perferctly understand your concern but can assure you it was not blood, but an off color of rust. As soon as the maintenance person found out he went up and replaced all parts involved with the problem. Once again we thank you for patronage, understanding and taking the time to let us know about issues with our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Unfortunately the internet was not so god, slow and need to login to some website to get internet just is bad, then its not easy to keep connected with ones, phones, laptops and pads.

Other than this, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thsnk you so much for your feedback. i am very sorry you had such a problem with our wireless, normally everything functions fine, but on a very few occasions when our property is full and because of the location of the hotel we do suffer so minor problems. I will contact our internet provider and see if there is anything at all we can do. This will help you on hopefully your next stay with us as well as other furure guests. Once again Thank you so much for your response and help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here one night during a road trip. Staff was excellent! Clean hotel and nice furnishings. I really enjoyed the morning breakfast with lots of yummy items. During our drive to the hotel I was very worried, but knew about the other reviews. As others mentioned in previous reviews, it is a little out of the way from the main highway but worth it. You have to drive thru a less-than-attractive part of town to get there but the area it is located in is much nicer than the drive there. GPS took me down 167, but take 90 instead it is a little better. There are also lots of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nituac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Howdy friends from Sugarland! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your short but sweet trip, and I'm glad everyone loved breakfast! We do our best to have a large variety of breakfast choices for kids and adults, and many guests enjoy the convenience of having a Chili's adjacent to our parking lot in addition to many great Cajun restaurants nearby. We hope to see you when you come through Louisiana again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lafayette-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette South
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 114 Rue Fernand, Lafayette, LA 70508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW 80 room all-suite property located in the Heart of Acadiana, featuring one king bed or two queen beds plus additional queen sleeper-sofa. All rooms offer microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. Free full hot buffet breakfast. Beautiful outdoor pool with gazebo and gas grill, guest laundry facilities, exercise room, business center and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing