We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dining experience ever.”
Review of Jolies Louisiana Bistro - CLOSED

Jolies Louisiana Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Mary
Description: Fresh. Local. Seasonal. Louisiana Farm to Table Beautiful Casual Atmosphere Great Wine List and Crafted Cocktails Local Produce and Artisanal Ingredients Famous Louisiana Heritage Paintings by George Rodrigue
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

They were out of 4 different menu items. Each time we (4 people) tried to order appetizer or entrees the waiter would return 10 minutes later to say they were out. The waiter was not apologetic and rolled his eyes when asked what was available. As there was no flounder or tuna we settled for steak and pork chops which were badly cooked.
On leaving we saw a blackboard with specials that were never offered to us and noticed waiter and manager going into kitchen to avoid us!
Great atmosphere cannot overcome terrible service and poor food quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fueleaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    51
    13
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious weird food in a gorgeous art setting”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous house whose walls are covered with George Rodrigue's paintings (the Blue Dogs painter). Service and food were very good. Rabbit pieces and Prosciutto appetizers were tasty. Turtle soup and Cioppino stew were a bit too spicy for me but hey, this is cajun country after all! A very nice evening was had by all. It's fancy so dress properly (shirt. No jacket needed). Perfect for business dinners or romantic evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Appetizers for entrees”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

One of the best things about Jolie's is,the fact that appetizers are so good you can have them for entrees too. Last night I has a dozen oysters Jolie and my wife had the cerviche. For actual appetizer we had the duck pate. All very good and the service was friendly and timely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachBobBoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heard good things-a bit disappointed”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a class reunion and wanted to have a nice, quiet Sunday brunch before leaving town. Had heard good reports about Jolie and was willing to give it a try.

Drove up around noon and thought it a bit strange that the parking lot seemed sparse considering how crowded most other places were this day. I have to say I was impressed with how nice the place looked. We were immediately seated and service was adequate. We had a very good Bloody Mary and a cup of coffee. We split an appetizer of crab cakes. A bit more bread inside but tasty. I ordered the 10 hour brisket has, my wife had the biscuit bacon egg Benedict. Mine was very salty but good flavor. My wife said she enjoyed the dish she had. I kept missing something and finally realized near the end there was never any form of bread offered. I actually looked at the menu and couldn't find any reference to bread.

While 'almost' there, we were disappointed just enough to not go back for brunch. We might be open to lunch or dinner but they were enough off the mark to not try again , especially with so many other options out there.

Helpful?
Thank DuncanBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a bistro or a brasserie ???”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

More akin to a brasserie than a bistro except they don't brew their own beer and that was unfortunate because they only sold the bottled kind. The atmosphere was lively and the food was good albeit a bit overpriced maybe. The service was friendly and attentive and the 'blue dog' original paintings around the walls gave the place a very individual touch making it a most pleasant evening out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocolatechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolies Louisiana Bistro also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing