We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fried Shrimp add Pepper Jack”
Review of Olde Tyme Grocery

Olde Tyme Grocery
Ranked #1 of 566 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fried Shrimp add Pepper Jack”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Best Fried Shrimp PoBoy I've ever had, and I've had plenty. They don't accept debit cards though so bring cash or check. Order ahead and pick up. Not much room inside. Not a huge selection either. There are better PoBoys in town though (not shrimp). Go to Julien's PoBoys for the best selection and tasting.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dd7073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    168
    35
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfected shrimp poor boy!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great food. Perfect Lafayette shrimp poorboy. I hate ordering at this place though. It's crowded and weird standing in a small crowed room waiting for your food. Order ahead of time for pick up or go before the lunch rush. Worth going non the less.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkcckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Po-Boy Around”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was, by far, one of the best po-boys I have ever had -- and the french fries to go with it were great -- We were 5 girls traveling and all of us had different po-boys and all were pleased with our purchase -- Don't leave Lafayette without trying this place if you like po-boys -

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southgal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Po Boys”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Really, really good shrimp and oster po boys. If you are in Lafayette of just passing through you otta stop by Olde Tyme Grocery for a great po boy. They are huge. I ate 1/2 of a large one for supper and the other 1/2 for lunch the next day. It is in an old place, not hard to find, and excellent sservice. I loved the french bread that they use to make these sandwiches. I will be back the next titme I am in the Lafayette area!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conniej238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Ate at the Louisiana famous Parkway Bakery&Tavern yesterday and the whole time I was thinking about how much better Old Tyme is. Been coming here for years and plan on many more.

Personal Poorboy favorites

Shrimp
Turkey&Swiss
Meatball&Pepperjack

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheProphet556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tyme Grocery also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Olde Tyme Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing