We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great hotel, great service. Worth a few extra $”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lafayette-South
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love it when first impressions are great and so is everything else. That describes this hotel. We've had one or two stays at this chain that were good but not up to the HIE standard or price. This one's worth the premium price. We don't mind paying the little more if we get what we're being promised by the brand. This one delivers! The room is spacious, great layout, and very clean. The bed was the usual premium quality with premium pillows and coverings. Super comfortable! The guy at the desk was clean cut and professional. Free internet was reasonable speed in the range of 3-10 MB/S and mostly closer to 10. Our experience is this is as good or better than most.

Won't have time to do breakfast in the morning but based on everything else we see here I think it would be fine!

Well done Holiday Inn Express. I wish all your hotels could be this good!

Room Tip: We saved a few bucks by booking online through Trip Adviser and paid in advance for the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 111 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel was everything we were looking for but we were not expecting the fantastic welcome and service we received. Reagan (mentioned in another review) gave us the warmest welcome we have ever received at any hotel ever and couldn't do enough to help us. Our king size room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and everything was kept well stocked and tidy. We enjoyed our stay so much (thanks to Reagan) - that we returned to stay there a week later for 2 more nights. Who was there to greet us again - Reagan. He remembered us right away and also a conversation we had about wine. I hope that management recognizes the rare gem that they have here and create career opportunities for this young man.

Room Tip: The rooms on the swimming pool side are quieter than the ones facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have never written about the desk clerk at any hotel....but this is special. After spending a long day driving, I was glad to reach my hotel. I was greated by Reagan at the front desk. He was actually happy to see me and was very kind and helpful. His care was real and he was not spending time on the phone, texting...etc like I have seen at other hotels. He checked me in quickly. He the pointed out warm fresh-baked cookies to take with me. They were still warm.... When I thanked him and started to leave, he said, "You want regular or skim milk and I will go get you some from the kitchen..."
Wow...what a nice thing to offer...
The bottled water was fine...but I felt really welcome.
Listen Holiday Inn...this young man could teach classes on how to greet and help customers.
The hotel was great...clean..quiet...safe....quiet...
But next time I come back, it will be because of the man with the cookies and milk.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Stop_At_Red_Lights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The customer service was great and the room and bathroom were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troycrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed here on the way coming back from a 6 hour drive. The desk clerk was very helpful and welcoming. I was exhausted and was hoping for a quiet room to relax for a bit. The hotel is clean, beautifully decorated, and has a wonderful staff. The breakfast was OK and was plentiful. The only minus I would give the hotel deals with the noise level. The walls seem to be very thin. I heard everything my neighbor was doing above me. I could hear when they walked, when a door was closed and possibly when an item was dropped on the floor. I did call and ask whether there were children above me at one point but I fell asleep eventually from exhaustion. I would recommend it if you are not in desperate need of rest and are just passing through for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there with a group of people. The staff was really nice. The rooms were ok for $90 The breakfast was not very appetizing but had several choices. Had problems with room keys constantly when trying to leave pool area to lobby. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannewhetstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here while on a business trip recently. The hotel was clean and looked nice. We didn't use the pool but others were and seemed to be having fun. It looked like a nice pool area.

The bed was comfortable. Rooms were set up well. Our room had a microwave and small refrigerator in it (which was nice!). But the shower head was terrible. Either the stream was light and too spread out or it was too narrow with good pressure. And, as is often the case, the walls were thin allowing you to hear noises in the hallway.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hniki234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette South
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 50 in Lafayette
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lafayette
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lafayette-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lafayette-South

Address: 210 Kaliste Saloom Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-3804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range: $85 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lafayette-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that downtown Lafayette, Louisiana has to offer at its newest hotel, Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Lafayette-South. You are conveniently located near shopping, restaurants, entertainment and arts. You are just a few miles from University of Louisiana, Cajun Dome, and numerous health care facilities. Getting here has to be fast and convenient. Only three miles from the Lafayette Regional Airport-LFT, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what brought you to Lafayette. Whether you re coming to Lafayette for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express, Lafayette-South is your personal retreat. Amenities such as free HSIA executive work desk, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts out right. Take a dip in our pool or keep up on your exercise regiment in our fitness center. Breakfast is our treat with our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar featuring a great selection of hot and cold breakfast favorites Points of interest Companies:Chevron USA, BP America, Halliburton, Baker Hughes Hospitals: University Medical Center, Lafayette General Medical Center, Women s and Children s Hospital Universities: University of Louisiana Local Attractions: Zoo of Acadiana, Acadiana Center for Arts, Wetlands Golf Course, Cité des Arts, Children s Museum of Acadiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lafayette-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing