We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESTAURANT WE HAVE EVER BEEN TOO”
Review of Prejean's

Prejean's
Ranked #7 of 566 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award-winning Cajun cuisine and live Cajun music nightly make Prejean's Restaurant a one-of-a-kind dining experience. Conveniently located on I49 North, just 2 miles north of I-10 in Lafayette, LA. Repeatedly voted Acadiana's Favorite Cajun restaurant, the friendly and casual atmosphere is sure to delight. Big Al, the 14-foot stuffed gator is seated in the middle of the dining room guarding some of our over 400 culinary medals and awards. Open 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Large groups welcome! Prejean's Restaurant is "Simply Cajun, Simply Delicious"!
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT WE HAVE EVER BEEN TOO”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We are from Louisiana and have still never found restaurant that compares to Prejean's. It's isn't a cheap fly by night restaurant so the reviews that say it's pricey is because it's the best of the best. If you want cheaper meals there is a McDonalds down the road in Carencro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChadsCajunGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    347
    185
    89
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very rude waitress”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

my wife and I stopped because a friend had told us what a great place this was. we came in and we seated, the waitress came over and asked if we had decided. my wife asked what etouffe was and she said gravy. nothing else. we gave our order and she just walked away, no thank you or anything else. she walked by and basically, threw the bread basket on our table and just walked away. we did not have any plates and I had to asked the busboy if he could get us some. she brought the meals. I had crawfish half and half. half were to be fried and half was to be with etouffee on top, with rice in the middle. there were plenty of fired crawfish, but only three on the etouffee side. but they tasted very good. she never asked it we wanted desert or if there were any specials. gave us the check and walked away. the service was rude and very very unfriendly. i would not go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, LA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was ok. I just won't go out of my way again.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It wasn't bad at all. It was ok. I think I cook better at home. When I go out to eat I think it should taste better than what I can do. If I were with a group and they wanted to eat at this restaurant I would not protest, I just wouldn't suggest this restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank 123forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best cajun food around!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and two sons stopped at this restaurant on our way to Texas. Husband had eaten there many years ago and remembered the food was great. It was the best cajun food any of us had ever eaten! We ordered the aligator tails appetizer and it was delicious. One son ordered the seafood platter and proclaimed all of the food was "to die for!" Other son ordered stuffed shrimp and sweet potato waffle fries and said it was so good. Hubby ordered the sausage and chicken gumbo and said it was as great as he remembered from eating it years ago. I ordered the stuffed Tilapia and it was "t o die for!" Huge portions all around. Our waitress had too many tables, but still gave us good service. We would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely eat there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding Southern Food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ask anyone from North Louisiana, and one of the highlights of a trip to South Louisiana is a stop at Prejeans. Ask anyone from South Louisiana where they love to go, and they'll say Prejeans. The catfish is the BEST! The gumbo lives up to its reputation. Bottom line is I don't think there is a bad dish on the menu. And the people are NICE! What is not to love? Be sure to tell your friends before you go there so they can watch you live on the Prejean's website while you eat. They'll be drooling!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ioumore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prejean's also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Prejean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing