We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Zydeco music, yummy food too!”
Review of Prejean's

Prejean's
Ranked #8 of 566 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award-winning Cajun cuisine and live Cajun music nightly make Prejean's Restaurant a one-of-a-kind dining experience. Conveniently located on I49 North, just 2 miles north of I-10 in Lafayette, LA. Repeatedly voted Acadiana's Favorite Cajun restaurant, the friendly and casual atmosphere is sure to delight. Big Al, the 14-foot stuffed gator is seated in the middle of the dining room guarding some of our over 400 culinary medals and awards. Open 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Large groups welcome! Prejean's Restaurant is "Simply Cajun, Simply Delicious"!
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Zydeco music, yummy food too!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited PreJeans while on a family trip. The Cajun food was superb. I shared a large crawfish platter with our youngest that was more than enough for the 2 of us. It had Fried crawfish, crawfish étouffée, crawfish cornbread pie, and something called crawfish boulettes, The platter came with crawfish bisque too. That was a new one for me, very tasty. The gumbo was good and not too spicy. Everyone liked the food. My hubby and oldest daughter had their fill of oysters on the halfshell. The music was really cool, a young zydeco group that kept us entertained.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    347
    185
    89
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went here through a recommendation and wished I hadn't bothered. They have live Cajun music, but the food was slop at best. I'm not a fussy eater, but left hungry because what was served was so poor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LatteLaLeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie
Level Contributor
195 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, but poor service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to Prejean's for breakfast on Sunday. We arrived at 10 am, but weren't served our food until after 11. The restaurant was not busy at all. Some of the food was cold, and had to be sent back. However, the shrimp gumbo was delicious, as well as the chicken and sausage gumbo. This the second time we have been for breakfast, and we had slow service both times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaBWaxahachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Biker Bob's place is the best”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is quintessential Cajun. Even for a light lunch of duck andoille gumbo, when I think Cajun eating I think Prejeans. Even drive over from Baton Rouge when I'm in the mood. Bank nothing this good on the other side of the river

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Recovered_Desperado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
197 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A bit plastic”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were staying nearby and asked at our hotel for a recommnedation of somewhere to go with music and good food. We arrived at 8.30/9.00pm and were told the music had finished. The place wasnt very busy so we got a table easily. This was our first taste of Southern Food and we were not disappointed, we enjoyed our meal and the food was tasty. But, the place is a little plastic, the table cloths were plastic and we were surrounded by plastic trees, not a great atmosphere and whilst we were eating they were stacking up the chairs around us, so we did not feel we wanted to linger, this was at 9.30pm so not really late.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prejean's also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Prejean's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing