We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Warm and Welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Warm and Welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2007

My husband, son and I just returned from spending three amazing nights at Pat and Maugie's Bed and Breakfast – Aaah! T’Freres. From the moment you meet Maugie and Pat, you feel like a part of their family. Their home is magnificent and the Garconniere, where we stayed, is a cozy, private cottage with two bedrooms (the Fais Do Do and the Bourree Rooms).

Breakfast is beautifully presented and served. But the best part of breakfast, of course, was the delicious food. We stayed for three nights and thus, got the great pleasure of trying three different scrumptious breakfasts! Each meal was completely unique and equally satisfying.

The Welcome T’Juleps and Cajun Canapés were a lovely and yummy part of each day – a time to socialize with other guests and the innkeepers. We got restaurant ideas and good feedback on area activities like the incredible swamp tour. Pat and Maugie didn’t just tell us about restaurants – they had the menus there for us to review. Once we decided where we wanted to go, they would not only make reservations for us but they would give us a map with the route marked!

  • Liked — Everything! The total experience!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EllenAdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
103
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
austin,tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2006

The OOH LA LA is what they call-Frozen pancakes, and artificial fruit is not my idea of a gourmet cajun breakfast, about the only edible food we had for breakfast was microwaveable bacon. That is why we decided to name this experience OOOH!!!! POO-POO!!!!!!!! Maybe the ghost of T' Frere's prepared the food that morning..

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank shakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your time shared here with us in cajun country!! We hope you return home with the joi de vivre that is so contageous and heart warming. If daddy didn't give you a hug on your way out or mom didn't wave and tell you she loved you or you didn't hear me play my accordion for you, hopefully this message will reach you and give you a smile. Bringing you back to our great times together, or some wonderful memory of true cajun life..

Merci!!

Pat, Maugie and John Pastor
Innkeepers Extrordinaire!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2006

Friendly innkeepers with good advice on local restaurants and activities; rooms OK but could be cleaner (mildew on shower curtain); breakfasts reasonably tasty, but not made from scratch (frozen pancakes and cool whip, according to their own cookbook!)

  • Liked — owners' knowledge of area
  • Disliked — room cluttered and a bit dusty; breakfast disappointing
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed at T-Frere's during a difficult time in our relationship. Pat and Maugie did everything possible to make sure that we had a delightful, warm and private stay. The breakfast was mouthwatering every morning and the Mint Juleps were worth the trips back to the B&B every afternoon!! It was exactly what we needed to rekindle our relationship! Thanks!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larecie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2005

My wife and I decided that for our tenth anniversary, we would go South. We figured the weather might be hot, but that would mean fewer people, and better prices.

Boy, are we glad we stumbled upon this beautiful place. I found T'Frere's (French slang for Little Brother's) right here on Trip Advisor. I emailed Pat and Maugie in January to reserve a room for August. Pat Pastor called me the next day and I reserved the Fais Do Do (pr. Fay Doh Doh) room, which is a room detached from the main house, in the rear of the inn.

Afternoon drinks and hors douvres were served from 4:30 to 5:30. Earlier, my wife had spoken to Maugie Pastor to tell her we were on our way from the Baton Rouge airport, and would arrive around 6:30. Maugie gave us directions from the highway, and we made it there right one time.

We were expecting to get our key from the mailbox on the porch, since we were late, but it wasn't there. Maugie came walking to the door and let us in the front. She led us to the porch where she had fresh iced Tea Juleps and Crab Crustards waiting for us. I thanked her for waiting for us, and she told us it was a lazy day and wanted to welcome us to their home.

Pat and Maugie are retired restaurateurs from Lafayette, with 35 years and seven restaurants behind them. They "retired" to run this Bed and Breakfast that they renovated over a few years. They gave us all the local eating knowledge, and the fun things to do. Both restaurants to which they directed us were wonderful local spots. I think we were the only tourists in both places.

We made it back to our Fais Do Do room and were welcomed by a beautiful canopied queen-sized bed. The whitewashed furniture was pretty, and we felt as if we were sleeping in a boutique. The decorations were lovely, and not overstated. The shower has a stained glass window above it that turns the bathroom in to a kaleidescope in the mornings. We slept really well both nights.

Both breakfasts we had at T' Frere's lived up to our expectations. We slept through our alarm clock the first night, and Pat called us at breakfast time. We readied ourselves quickly, and discovered that they delayed serving breakfast for ten minutes just for us. The other folks staying at the inn were perfectly welcoming, too. One couple was from a town fifteen miles west, and said that this is the place to go. With local approval like this, I knew we got lucky with our choice.

The first morning's breakfast menu was Cajun Angel Eggs, Potato Farcie, Acadiana Smoked Sausage, Petite Crepes with cane syrup, and Pistolets. The eggs consisted of a mixture of chees, broccoli, spinach, and spices baked to a fluffy consistency.

The locally-made smoked sausage was perfectly flavored with smokiness and enough spice to let you know it's there without overpowering the meat. The meal was preceded by wine glasses filled with Mama's Apple Salad-- a mixture of apples, pecans, mayonnaise, celery, and grated chees. This was by far the best breakfast we had on our trip, Brennan's included. No comparison.

Our second morning's breakfast was named "Oooh! La! La! Paris" by the Pastors. And it lived up to its name. Before we knew the name of the meal, the woman sitting across from me, who happened to be from Paris, France, exclaimed "Oooh! La! La!" as Pat and his assistant placed our plates in front of us.

How can I describe this, other than dessert for breakfast? We were served Cheesecake Stuffed Pancakes. Three pancakes, each cut in half and made in to a sandwich, but stuffed with cheesecake filling. Each was topped with a different syrup or fruit-- fresh strawberries in syrup, fresh blueberries in syrup, and bananas foster. The pancakes were accompanied by the most interesting bacon. It was perfectly flat. And it was cripsy and flavorful. We found out later in the inn's cookbook the secrets behind all of the wonderful food and drink.

The best non-eating part of our stay was the second afternoon we were there. We had just finished a day of touring the Tabasco plant and some small towns in the area. We arrived back to the inn in a downpour, but it was warm and refreshing, unlike the rain we get in California. We arrived just in time for the afternoon hors doeuvres. Pat and Maugie were there to welcome us again. We sat on the porch and watched the rain fall on the azaleas, and listened to the thunder and watched the lightning, all while sipping on Tea Juleps and munching on crispy crab crustards.

It was truly a wonderful experience. Pat and Maugie treated us as if we were long-lost children. Their warmth and kindness really made us want to stay longer but we had reservations in New Orleans. We liked New Orleans, but we will remeber this anniversary trip for our time spent at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Don't miss it if you're planning on a visit to Louisiana.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for your time shared here with us in cajun country!! We hope you return home with the joi de vivre that is so contageous and heart warming. If daddy didn't give you a hug on your way out or mom didn't wave and tell you she loved you or you didn't hear me play my accordion for you, hopefully this message will reach you and give you a smile. Bringing you back to our great times together, or some wonderful memory of true cajun life..

Merci!!

Pat, Maugie and John Pastor
Innkeepers Extrordinaire!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

T'Frere's House is a cozy and friendly way to spend a few days in Cajun country. Maugie and Pat Pastor are knowledgable and have lived in Cajun country their whole lives. Yes, as another review states, they are not around other than check-in time and breakfast, but that is typical of a b&b. If you want a concierge desk you should stay at a bigger hotel. The Mary Room sleeps three and was comfortably furnished.

Breakfast is good and Maugie is famous for it--she ran restaurants in Louisiana most of her life. But there isn't a selection of items--you eat what's being cooked for the day.

The location is good and Lafayette is as good as any other town in Cajun country to make your home base for a trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

I've stayed in other B&Bs but never had the feeling of being truly welcome and taken cared for. Both Pat and Maugie's hospitality were excellent. She immediately asked our plans and made sure our reservations for dinner were in order. For those times we had not chosen a restaurant, she asked about our tastes and recommended several from which we could choose. She also made arrangements for a swamp tour for us. Being welcomed with a T'julep on arrival was very welcome on a hot day. Bring the recipe back with you. The room at the front of the house was adequately large enough and quiet. I must say, though, that the tv was strangely placed. Both my wife and I enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lafayette South at River Ranch
4.2 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Property: T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-6347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing