We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A priceless Cajun experience ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A priceless Cajun experience ...”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a night in Lafayette to visit with some friends who recommended T’Frere’s. We could repeat all the wonderful things said in other reviews; but to describe our overall experience
….. We arrived as honored guests and left feeling like family.

Pat & Maugie are special people and exceptional hosts. We can’t say enough nice things about them and our stay at T’Frere’s House. Even the garden cats make you feel welcome!

The 19th century house is comfortable and has lots of “personality”. We adored Mary’s room at the front of the house and felt honored to be staying in it. Sleeping in the antique bed was awesome. From that location we had full access to the main house and could explore and relax. The various rooms filled with antiques were a step back in time. A bit of street noise there obviously didn’t bother us, because we slept like rocks. There are seven other bedrooms, each of which is special.

We will be back! Next time we want to dance in the front hall, eat more Ooh La La breakfasts, relax in the garden longer with Mr. Maugie (the cat), and hear more of Pat and Maugie’s stories.

Your visit to the Lafayette area will not be complete without a night at T’Frere’s. You must experience the Cajun hospitality and culture as well as the lovely accommodations, great food and drink.

Love you Pat and Maugie!
Cookie & Fred, Houston TX

Room Tip: All rooms delightful. We loved Mary's Room with bath. Hall (shared) baths are larger. Maybe ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookieandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    42
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
105
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My boyfriend got me a wonderful trip to Cajun Country for Christmas. We loved our stay at T'Frere's. Unfortunately, we did not spend much time at the house; I would have loved to enjoy the front porch swing with a drink. If we come back to the area we would definitely stay with Pat and Maugie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you want a fun B & B experience in Lafayette, T'Frere's House is the place to stay! Pat and Maugie, the hosts, do a wonderful job of making each guest feel right at home and both are fun, informative, and very attentive. The Ooh LaLa Breakfasts are truly special. This was our first taste of Cajun country hospitality and it was outstanding. Also, we enjoyed conversing with the other guests, as well as with Pat and Maugie! Each day was a fun filled experience.

If you're looking for a quality B & B in Lafayette, look no further than T'Frere's House!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were recommended by locals to stay at this B & B..Pat and Maggie the hosts do not leave anything to chance, the drinks and nibbles were served almost immediately upon our arrival, and make sure you are on time for breakfast as it is definitely Ooh LaLa! We were looking for the packet of filter coffee to make our own in the room.. It was already in the machine! The decor and the rooms are very welcoming and comfortable..

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawthorne4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just had a lovely two day stay at T'Freres. Our hosts were gracious and helpful and were not (as we have experienced elsewhere) overbearing. The room was clean and comfortable, although the lights from the hallway (on all night) made for less-than-optimal sleeping (we shut them off the 2nd night). All in all it was just what we were looking for and would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a place to call home in Lafayette.

Room Tip: make sure you check as to whether or not the room has its own bathroom as not all rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and i went for a week-end away to Lafayette, LA and made reservations at the T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast. It was wonderful!! We stayed in the Bourree' room in the garden behind the main house. It was perfect.....quiet, relaxing...huge king size bed...etc. Maugie and Pat Pastor were the most attentive hosts. We enjoyed the T'Juleps and crab custards on our arrival and really appreciated Maugie helping us choose our restaurant for the evening and making our reservations for us too.
The Ooh!La!La! Breakfasts were FANTASTIC!! and we enjoyed Pat's Boudreaux and Tibadeaux jokes while we enjoyed our breakfast with the other guests. The house was all decorated inside and out for Christmas and was just beautiful. We appreciated their hospitality and for making our 2 night stay there the best!!

Room Tip: We personally liked the two private cottages behind the main house. Couldn't hear the road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you go to Louisiana, your visit won't be complete without a night at T'Frere's B&B! The place is very nice, lot's of thing to look at and the rooms are above the average bed and breakfast. The staff (Pat and Maggie) are very welcoming and knowledgeable and won't hesitate to go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. Room are well maintained, you have a lot of complementary drinks and the whole house is for you to discover. Then, the Ooh La La breakfast is quite something in itself... tasty and different from anything you had before. So, in short: book now and enjoy the same pleasure that I did while spending 2 nights there.

Room Tip: The 1890 room, upstairs is by far the best with lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lafayette South at River Ranch
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 50 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#26 of 50 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Property: T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-6347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing