We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The looking stops here.....”
Review of Hacienda Jacana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talparo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Jacana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

"A picturesque location, that gives the heavenly feeling, with angels by your side"-This best describes Hacienda Jacana. Helen & Jesse are in it to see you smile....The kids had a wonderful time-especially just relaxing bird watching. They did not even turn on the television. Kayaking was fun for the entire family. The cottage is very well maintained and fully equipped so to are the grounds. You are offered a swim in the gorgeous pool or a peaceful walk through the lush green trees where many species of birds create a melody that leaves you anxious to catch a glimpse of them. My family and I had a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend Hacienda Jacana. Sunita. Thank you Helen & Jesse.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunita1479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Jacana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at Hacienda Jacana has been the most enjoyable and relaxing holiday we have had as a family in Trinidad. This 'mini' resort is well managed with the emphasis on high quality service and comfort of guests in a safe, eco-friendly environment. From the time of our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Helen and Jesse who made us feel right at home. It is a gem of a place that takes one back to nature with many species of local birds and fauna. We had three kids with us, one boy and two girls, ages between 8 and 10 years old. Even though the cabins were equipped with wifi internet access, cable television and air-conditioned bedrooms, the kids were more interested in being outdoors using the canoes, swimming in the lovely pool, going for short hikes and seeing the domestic and ‘wild’ animals. Thank you Helen, Jesse, Simon and Rita for Super Weekend! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandFamilyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our week at Hacienda Jacana. Our bungalow was extremely comfortable and well appointed, and we loved sitting on the verandah with humming birds whizzing by! the grounds and estate are so beautiful, natural and peaceful - a little bit of paradise.!
The hospitality was wonderful; we really appreciated the delicious home cooked meals, the visits and trips organised for us, and the care and attention to detail for everything. We really felt welcomed by Helen, Jesse, Simon, Vin and Alusia into their family environment, and indeed the whole week was just wonderful and very memorable. We would thoroughly recommend the Hacienda Jacana, and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful weekend. My husband and I are into birding and Hacienda Jacana was recommended by two other birders. We were not disappointed! We saw the Gray-necked wood rails, the Gray Hawk and the Green Kingfisher for the first time (in addition to other birds that we have seen previously). There was a hummingbird feeder on the verandah and I am now much better at identifying hummingbirds. We saw about seven different types of hummingbirds.

The service was great. There was a personal touch to the service that you do not get at hotels.

The cabins were well-equipped. It really felt like a home away from home.

Thanks to Helen and family for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: The fourth cabin is the furthest away from the pool (so if you like the pool you would prefer Cabin...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent place to get away and forget about "real life" for a while. This is your "Shangri-La" in Trinidad. Will definitely recommend here and will definitely go again.
The service and amenities ensure your comfort and peace of mind come first. Luxury amidst nature. No need to "rough it" but you sure are surrounded by all that is natural to the land.
The pool is a perfect "sip and dip", for friends to meet and kids to splash, should they choose.
Not taking kids...well, romance is alive! Perfect for two people who just want to be alone, and the weather does not affect the scenery.
Our host, hostess and family did everything, successfully, to make us feel absolutely welcomed and at home. I must give a BIG THANKS to them.
Walk with a camera. If you're going to explore, carry an extra pair of shoes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was totally blown away with this nature paradise... if quiet serenity and a love of nature is your cup of tea, this is on of Trinidad's pieces of heaven. Oh and the service and amenities are just the best !! Hats off to Helen and her family for making my family and I truly welcomed and well cared for... I can't wait for our next visit !!!!

Room Tip: the cottages are all fabulous
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMAR2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really, really nice place. Felt like home, but better. More comfortable. Cleaner. Nicer people. Better food. Civilized in the middle of nature. Kids went off and didn't bother us all weekend. Gray-necked wood rails live outside our cottage (the most easterly). Three kingfisher species seen from our balcony. Jesse, Helen and their kids are wonderful people, into nature, into conservation, and their hospitality is clearly genuine and heartfelt. They make you feel like special, pampered house guests, and effortlessly cater to any needs, (like my vegetarianism). If you desperately need some peace and quiet, head out there now. With binoculars.

Room Tip: for birding, I thought the most easterly room was quite good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talparo
18.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,146 reviews
26.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
190 reviews
16.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
179 reviews
19.1 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Jacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Jacana

Address: Leotaud Trace 6, Talparo 437258, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Talparo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Talparo
Price Range: $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Jacana is a peaceful country haven. Slip into the serene setting of a private country paradise, discretely set in 22 acres on the edge of the tropical rain forest at the centre of Trinidad. Relax or BBQ poolside, walk the grounds, bird watch, read a book in a hammock under the trees,fish or canoe in the lake. Bedrooms are air conditioned and the cottages are outfitted to the highest degree of elegance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing