We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishopthorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bracken Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bishopthorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We really liked the rooms which were very clean and tidy.
The breakfast was lovely, as too was Julie. There was a bus stop directly opposite with a quick ride into town. We were even fortunate enough to be given homemade cookies. Highly recommended! Melanie and Joe

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have just returned from Bishopthorpe having spent two nights at Bracken Lodge B&B and it was wonderful. The accommadation is new, modern and spotlessly clean. The three rooms are in a new purpose built extension which has one room suitable for someone with limited mobility on the ground floor. There is a ramp into the main door and that room has a walk-in shower.
We were in room 2 upstairs which is a double with bath and shower over it. The shower has excellent pressure, there were toiletries and a hairdryer. The towels were lovely and thick. The room itself is quite large and the hospitality tray had a generous selection of teas, coffees and drinking chocolate. I really liked the fact that fresh milk was provided in a vacuum flask. There was also water and a small tin with biscuits. I especially liked the fresh flowers placed on the window ledge which I think is very welcoming. There is a useful information folder which includes bus timetables - the bus stop to York is directly opposite and buses are regular. Guests are also invited to use the breakfast room if they bring back a takeaway.
Breakfast was delicious I agree with Wendy the poached egg was great. As well as cooked breakfast, which includes a vegetarian option , there was a selection of cereals, grapefruit segments, fruit salad, yoghurts and croissants.
Bishopthorpe is close to the racecourse and very convenient for York, there are also some lovely local walks along the river. I can reccommend the Ebor for an excellent meal (we didn't use the other 2 pubs). We will certainly be back and I have no hesitation in reccommending Bracken Lodge.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility room 1 is suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanChippenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night and were very impressed with everything, the room, the on-suite bathroom, the breakfast and the warm and friendly welcome.
If we are in the area again this is where we will stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janderzzon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at braken lodge for 2 nights in march and had a fantastic stay. Julie gave us a very warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The room was lovely and spotless and the bathroom amazing. The breakfast was very tasty, best poached eggs I've ever tasted. I would recommend this bed and breakfast 100%, we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187049Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopthorpe
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,363 reviews
3.2 mi away
B+B York
B+B York
#4 of 47 in York
580 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#7 of 194 in York
1,432 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#2 of 194 in York
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracken Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracken Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Main Street, Bishopthorpe, York YO23 2RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Bishopthorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bishopthorpe
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bracken Lodge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bracken Lodge Bed and Breakfast accommodation is situated in the idyllic village of Bishopthorpe near York.Guest accommodation offering the finest bed and breakfast stay in a relaxing environment. Situated only 3 miles from the centre of York and within walking distance of York racecourse.Bracken Lodge Bed & Breakfast is ideally placed for a visit to York or as a base to explore the Yorkshire ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing