We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“If you just need a place to crash...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn of Kinder

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
American Inn of Kinder
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Sealy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you just need a place to crash...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at this little motel when it first opened under its original owner and it was perfect, clean and cheap. Well, now it is none of the above, as it is really showing signs of wear throughout the property and the price was almost $80 ($25 higher than my initial visit, although I was a walk-in this time). I got a non-smoking room that probably became such just after I asked for a "Non-smoking room, please", ha ha. There was a heavy smoke-masking deodorant in the room which I aired out for awhile. There was also a medium-sized spider that I dispatched, but no signs of any other insect habitation. The bed was soft and lumpy, due to wear and tear (I hate to imagine what kind). The continental breakfast... well, we drove to Vidor and ate at a Waffle House after seeing it, so I think you can fill in the blanks. If there are no other hotels in Kinder and driving back home is not an option... stay here. Otherwise, bring camping equipment, hehehe. Good Luck!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRTraveldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    3
    12
See reviews for
4
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

i love it, the room it very clean , great price ,no complain ,i will be back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heater l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

This establishment now goes by the name American Inn of Kinder. The dispute is regarding their poor quality and lack of cleanliness on dec 17,2011.

As I drove into the parking lot - I noticed two adolescents exchanging money for something in a Baggie. I hesitated to get out of my car - they then yelled profanities and ran off. I called my travel agency to let them know I was travelling alone and feared for my safety and did not wish to stay there.They informed me that was up to the motel which refused any refund. I was upset and went to eat at a nearby restaurant. I decided I should not judge a book by its cover and checked in. When I opened the door to the room it smelled like vomit. I opened the door to let the foul air escape. I walked into the bathroom to find 3 large roaches crawling on the tub. I packed my things and went to the front with the key - I told Steven Patel about the smell and filth of the room. He said I know you didn't want to stay here but too bad you will not be getting a refund. I travel frequently for work and this was the filthiest place I have ever been in.

Room Tip: Steer clear of this roach motel - it smells of urine and vomit -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMYAGGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kinder hotels

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Literally, the place smells like fish. The staff is not friendly and they tried to raise the rates when I checked in. Don't stay here

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmikejonesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

Dirty walls, burnt out light bulbs, bare thread sheets, old food left in the mini fridge from previous guests, dirty/ripped carpet, thin walls (could hear the person in the next room snoring!), door to room would barely open due to ripped carpet, free shuttle to casino never arrived after being called 3 times. Did I miss anything? Don't waste your time in this dump! Spend a few bucks more and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

I drove all the way from San Antonio, TX and was happy with the check-in. It was fast. The Manager was very nice and would always give a friendly wave of hello. The room I had was clean and everything seemed to work. The cleaning staff were very good about maintaining the cleanliness of the room. I always had clean towels and the staff were also friendly. I stayed two nights and enjoyed the fact that I could go to my room and relax after spending most of my time at the casino. Not having to stress about room problems during a vacation is always a plus and this place was definitely stress-free. It is very close to the casino, maybe about 5 or 7 minutes away. There is a railroad, however, across from the hotel. Sometimes a train passes during the evening. The mattress felt very firm. Other than that everything was good and I was very satisfied with my stay. Just an FYI there is a very good Waffle Shoppe a few blocks up from the hotel on Highway 165. The pecan waffles and pancakes are awesome!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maf2974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa,La.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Scottish Inn was clean and we enjoyed our stay there. Only 4 miles from casino. Could not find a place to stay on New Years Eve. Wish I would have got girls name. Very polite and helpful.Thanks Scottish Inn.

  • Liked — Very close to casino
  • Disliked — Price went up for holiday
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonyadunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kinder hotels
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 10 in Kinder
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Coushatta
5.2 mi away
Coushatta Grand Hotel
Coushatta Grand Hotel
#3 of 10 in Kinder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Seven Clans Hotel
Seven Clans Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kinder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kinder
4.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Kinder
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Inn of Kinder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn of Kinder

Property: American Inn of Kinder
Address: 14734 Highway 165, Kinder, LA 70648 (Formerly Scottish Inn Kinder)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn of Kinder 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Inn of Kinder offers guests free Continental breakfast served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, wakeup service and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your American Inn of Kinder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Kinder Hotel Kinder
Scottish Hotel Kinder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing