We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Shoes RV Resort
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was our worst trip ever first of all we stayed in a chalet which is normally okay but not this time the chalet was full of flies which as the office claim from the rodeo our bathroom had vomit on the floor and all over the bathroom door we had to call for them to come spray for flies and to get the vomit up when we went to check out my husband talk to the manager and all she could say was the house keepers got a verbal warning I will never stay there again the flies r still their the whole experience this time was very unsanitary never ever again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Red Shoes RV Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

This RV resort was a pleasant surprise, especially for the price. Normally only $19/night, we paid just $17 with our Good Sam's discount. The park is very well maintained. There's a big pool, fairly spacious paved sites with full hookups, lots of room for our 38ft 5th wheel and truck. The price also included cable and WIFI (which was surprisingly fast!). The comfort stations were clean, lots of hot water for showers.

Not many RV parks let you clean your vehicle or your motor home/trailer on their premises unless you stay long term, but that didn't seem to be the case here. We saw lots of people, in for only a couple of nights, washing their rigs.

If you gamble, the casino is within walking distance (10-15 mins) or you can take a free shuttle over...they pick you up right at your site.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trailernomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Had to stay in a Chalet (had a free night) because all the hotel rooms were taken. Will never do this again!! OMG! The bed was SOOO uncomfortable! Like being on a bouncy, but flat air mattress. My mom had to sleep on the pull out sofabed...she almost moved to the floor to sleep...she said it was ridiculously uncomfortable. The constant Coushatta visitor that she is, she said if she has to stay in a Chalet again she would rather drive home to Tx! I kid you not!
The rest of the chalet was okay...but the heater (fan) was crazy loud! The challenge was getting it to the right temperature. Personally, it was the most uncomfortable night in a hotel type room ever. Period. And I don't think there could ever be a worse one than this! The only thing that would have made it worse is if I hadn't brought my own pillow! The sheets had stains...albeit they smelled clean. Some parts were burned by an iron. 'Nuff said. But still love the casino! :) P.S. the check-in staff for the chalets was horrible, too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbfosterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in our own RV so we can't critique the hotel or chalets but what we did see we liked. We do not gamble and were in town for the PowWow. We are a family of four with two small boys. First, this place was incredibly clean. The restrooms, lodge, grounds…everything was spotless. During our visit to the pool, some trashy folk let their kids swim and then left diapers along the edge of the pool. When we pointed this out to the staff a lady not only picked up the diapers, she also brought a disinfectant and sanitized the area. Lady who went the extra mile to ensure guests were enjoying a clean pool, you get two thumbs up. Family who left dirty diapers along the edge of the pool, may you be cursed with two flat tires on every future vacation you take.
When we were unhooking to depart we noticed a gentleman on a golf cart riding to each campsite and picking up whatever may have been left behind so the next campers would arrive to a spotless site.
The front desk staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions, no matter how silly, with a big smile and made us feel welcome.
Even the neighbors were friendly. When we attempted to set out the spring loaded awning on our camper we must have looked like a scene from National Lampoon and just as I was contemplating tearing the awning from the side of the camper and stuffing it into a dumpster two men from across the street came over and showed us how it works. Thanks Guys!
When we arrived at the casino we were greeted by a friendly lady who we informed we were looking for the buffet. She did not just give us directions, she walked us to the restaurant which was great since we had parked on the opposite end of the facility and would have never found it. About an hour and a half later when we left the restaurant she just happened to run into us again and helped us find our way back to the parking lot where we had left our car. Mam…you make this place look good.
Now for the only thing that could use some improvement – the food at the buffet was mediocre at best. We ate the Saturday night seafood buffet and were disappointed. The fish tasted like freezer and my first plate of oysters were fried to the consistency of charcoal. The shrimp were not the robust and flavorful brown gulf shrimp you would expect to be served in this part of the country but were white shrimp which could have been run through a deveiner to get rid of some of the grit. On the up side though, once I settled in to a giant plate of snow crabs things got better quickly.
Final thoughts on the experience, this was a great place to stay and the hospitality was unmatched. The area was beyond clean and it was affordable. It was not very campy though. More like clean spaces to park than wilderness and campfires. If you are visiting Kinder this is the way to go.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithAlanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

After being recommended by some friends decided to stay here. Made reservations for 4 adults. Were given the rates of $65 for Thur & $115 for Fri nights. Could have stayed cheaper in the Casino hotel (Grand), but went for the privacy of the chalets. Boy were we disappointed, in the Queen bed they must put an elephant in the middle of it when there are vacancies. All night long you fight falling to the middle of the bed which isn't good if you are trying to sleep! The sofa queen was no better, with a mattress worn out years ago you find yourself sleeping on bars and springs. The front desk clerks were unfriendly and seemed to make you wait just because they could. Only had 1/2 roll of Toilet paper in which was empty early first night. Only positives was cleanliness of room and the pool all to ourselves from 8:00 'til it closed. Will not stay again, even for free.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed for four days in the Red Shoe Rv Resort and we had great time. This is our fith or sixth stay with this top notch camp ground. The staff are well trained and extreamly pleasent. If we needed anything they were very helpful and We will be staying again in march 2010. I would suggest that anyone with an Rv try this,because it is the top of the line camp ground. It has lots of things to do and it has a shuttle to the casino at any time day or night. The Mullins Sugarland Texas

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullins3852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

We stayed here free for 3 nights based on previous play at the Coushatta Casino. Okay these are trailers, and tiny trailers at that.. Still, as noted in other reviews, everything you need is there. The trailers are spotless clean, and it is kind of neat to have an outdoor deck. Staff was super friendly. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jmb994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinder
0.1 mi away
Coushatta Grand Hotel
Coushatta Grand Hotel
#3 of 10 in Kinder
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Clans Hotel
Seven Clans Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kinder
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn At Coushatta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 10 in Kinder
1 reviews
23.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jennings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Shoes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Shoes RV Resort

Address: 777 Coushatta Drive, Kinder, LA 70648
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kinder
Price Range: $58 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Shoes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check out one of the nation's best RV resorts. Plus there are 100 fully furnished chalets. Add in the action at the casino and this is the ultimate mini vacation. There are dog friendly chalets and the new Lucky Paws dog park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Red Shoes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Shoes Rv Hotel Kinder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing