We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coushatta Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Inn many many times. It has always been nice. This time, however, i see it is not as well maintained as before. ( Mold in the shower, torn shower curtins, torn rubber mats for tub. the bedding is old but clean and the pillows need to be replaced) The bed was comforable and the room itself smelled clean which was nice. New tv set and comfortable chair in room was good. The new coushatta hotel is very very nice. I think that all the attention is being given there. New hotel is advertised for the time being at about 90 dollars a night which is a good price.. The pool that is between the coushatta inn and the new hotel is new very pretty. much better that the hotel pool at the actual casino. The pool at the casino hotel is dirty and not well kept.

Room Tip: if you get a comp room this is great...You have to take the shuttle to get to the casino property it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joli52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Whether you gamble or not, Coushatta is a great getaway if only for the pool. It offers a lazy river for tubing, splash pads, slides, in-pool bar, and friendly employees. They close the pool from mid-October until March.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The new dream pool at Coushatta is open from March until mid-October and is great for everyone! Splash pads, slides, in-pool bar, and tubing make it great for all ages. When I visited, grandparents were having a ball with grandkids as parents had the freedom to explore the hotel amenities and casino. Ask for a room on a higher level so you have a view. My only complaint is that they need more handicap spaces; my mom is 91 and had to walk quite a bit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teachermomgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We took advantage of a free room offer we received at Coushatta Grand Hotel (the one connected to the casino). We valet parked and got a bellman to help us up with our bags. This was a one night stay on the way home to Houston from a vacation in New Orleans. We had our 2 children with us, 2 and 10. We checked into the room right at 3. We relaxed in the room a bit. The room was clean, and had plenty of room. We got a room with 2 queens and also had enough room to put up the pack and play for our youngest daughter. The room had a microwave, a fridge, and a coffee bar. The bathroom was large and clean. We checked the kids in at Kids Quest for a few hours and played at the casino. We didn't win (go figure!) but had a good time. My husband and I were each given a $15 comp to the sandwich shop. We got the kids from Kids Quest and got a bunch of snacks, drinks, sandwiches with our comps. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ferfer2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel we stayed in is the Grand Hotel that is attached to the casino, not to be confused with the Grand Inn or the newly built Seven Clans Hotel. It's a little confusing with the reviews because they're all lumped into this hotel but they are different. We've stayed at the Grand Inn previously and it was nice but this time we stayed at the Grand Hotel. So that is what this review is about. It was our first time in this facility and it was nice but a little dated. Only one elevator was working at the time of our visit which wasn't convenient. The inside of the elevator was a little dirty and everything looked like it was kind of tired and in need of refreshing. The room itself was tired also, would highly recommend getting rid of the nasty bedspread. All of the hotels are now going with the duvets that get washed. We really hate the bedspreads because we know that they are not washed regularly, we call them the "ca-ca" blankets. Sorry, just telling the truth here. A disclosure here ....even though this room was comped, we feel compelled to give an honest review just as if we payed for the room. We had fun at the casino and perhaps the room is just for a shower and sleeping but I feel that the rooms need updating and refreshing. I would not have a problem staying there again, hopefully they'll give the Hotel some attention, perhaps now that they're done with the Seven Clans, they can get to work on the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SATraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The property opened 11 July 12, We went in the 16th.
Some work still to be done, and staff was not all up to speed, but overall pleasant experience. Rooms not crowded, no frig or microwave. Ice on the floor. King bed is high, could use a stool for 5'8" person. TV over 50 channels; free WiFi, but slow. Free valle parking (plus tip)
Very convient to Casino thry short walk thru lobbly and hall.Bar in hotel lobby much more expensive that casino bars. Hugh swimming pool under construction, probably October finish.

Room Tip: Room 271 on North side of West wing good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldarmy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The stay at this hotel was great. As you walk in you can see that the place is beautiful and you start looking forward to seeing the actual room. There is security near the elevators which was a nice touch. Hotel staff helped us with our luggage and they were very nice and helpful, once in the room it was breathtaking as the decor is very nice. It was a real treat to enjoy this new hotel with all that it has to offer. Being able to walk to the casino indoors was also very nice. We enjoyed that everything we wanted to do on this trip was here at this location. The location of the ice and vending machines is on every floor so we didn't need a microwave or fridge. PJ's coffee is in the lobby or you can brew your own coffee in your room on Keurig coffee maker. The lay out of the room is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyof5_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinder
0.1 mi away
Seven Clans Hotel
Seven Clans Hotel
#2 of 10 in Kinder
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inn At Coushatta
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 10 in Kinder
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jennings
23.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Iowa
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Eunice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coushatta Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coushatta Grand Hotel

Address: 777 Coushatta Drive, Kinder, LA 70648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kinder
Price Range: $122 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coushatta Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 208 spacious, ADULTS-ONLY beautifully furnished rooms and suites of Coushatta Grand Hotel offer an unsurpassed level of comfort, style, and personal service. From the luxury of authentic marble floors, magnificent chandeliers and intriguing art, to the practicality of in-room coffeemakers, hair dryers and ironing provisions, you will treasure every moment of your stay at Coushatta Grand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Coushatta Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coushatta Hotel Kinder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing